Playa Del Carmen


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
October 31st 2008
Published: October 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

It is unfortunate that one must go to a place like this - but it´s the closest town to the airport (apart from Cancun which is even worse).

If you like being surrounded by bogan Americans, very few actual Mexicans, paying at least tripple for food and drinks that you pay in other Mexican towns, then this is the place for you.

Playa Del Carmen exists only for the American tourist who thinks that they are getting a true Mexican experince here.

Are you getting the sense that I don´t like it here?

Tonight is our farewell dinner. And there is meant to be a big party for Halloween (how American.) So, we´ve been trying to work out what we can do to dress up... There aren´t any real costume places here and we have limited makeup with us... so this is going to be interesting.

I can´t believe it´s been 2 weeks. We´ve covered heaps of ground and seen some fantastic places. The group has been great and the tour leader has done a fabulous job is getting us from place to place with no hassles.

Tomorrow we head for Cuba! YEAY! Not sure what the internet connectivity will be there, but I´ll try.

Here I was expecting for the ´ewww´time in Playa to continue, but things turned around that night. Yes, the place was still not my cup of tea, but Holloween was heaps of fun.

3 of us decided that we´d dress up. We spent the day looking for makeup. You´d think that a town that is there only for the whims of tourists would have makeup, but no, it was extremely hard to find, but eventually, all that was needed was found.

Merryn went as a pirate, with parrot on shoulder and all. I went as a cat (that wouldn´t be a big surprise for many). The 3rd in our troup, Stephaine from Germany, went as an alien. The whole twon was in party mode. Our hotel had a party... free drinks (nice drinks such as margaritas!), free band. EVERYONE was in costume and the party was so huge is spilled out onto the street. I´m guessing everyone else had to pay to go, but since we were guests there, it was gratis. It would need to be because the band was about 5 feet away from our door and window (no glass, so no way to block out the sound if that´s what you wanted to do).

I think we all got to bed around 3.00am. I think the party finished at 5.00am. I have no idea how I slept through the final 2 hours of it, but I did. And before you just go an assume I was in an alchohol-induced comma, I wasn´t. I had stopped drinking well before midnight, thank you very much.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb