Mexico Independence Day


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
September 15th 2007
Published: September 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today is Mexico's Independence Day. If you read a lot on line like I do, even the 'official' sites sometimes give conflicting information. That is the case with Independence Day. Most say September 15, others the 16th, 1810. This, apparently, is when the true rebellion began, but the treaty was not signed until August of 1824.

Enough with the history. This is a cause for a major party!! Everywhere there will be parties! Downtown has been setting up for days now and Governor Ivonne Ortega is to appear on the second floor of the Governor's Palace on the big plaza at 10:00 tonight. She is to pull the velvet bell cord to toll the bell three times while shouting Viva Mexico! Didn't see them today, but two days ago there were flatbeds full of camouflaged soldiers just outside the downtown area. Preparations I suppose.

Funny one for y'all and so typical of me: Susie and I had sat at our favor bar for about 2 1/2 hours this afternoon drinking and eating, then we decided to venture to the big plaza to see what was happening. As we came to the side of the Governor's Palace, my bathing suit top (that was UNDER a shirt, mind you) began to untie itself. There was a gentleman in one of the doorways with a walkie talkie and I, in English, asked if I could come inside. No, of course, was his answer. Then I asked him to stand beside me to hide me while I tied my top, pulling my shirt up a little in the process and beginning to tie.

What in the world could he do? In English he said 'No problem', stood (looking away) to shield me somewhat and I tied it up in a jiffy.
Thanked him and as we were walking away he cautioned me, in English, to be careful! Susie asked if he had just said be careful and whether that was for me personally or with my clothes!! Females just have their way about them!

We rounded the corner of the Palace and there were barricades set up but with an opening to cross to the plaza. Susie asked me if we should cross there and I said something to the effect that we should unless someone pointed a gun at us (didn't see anyone with guns down there), but secretly I was thinking "if someone were to point a gun, should I hoist my shirt and retie my bathing suit top?"

There were quite a few folks downtown already today and we left for our separate casas by 5:00. Bet it will be shoulder to shoulder there tonight.

Never one to miss a good festival, I will probably stroll the Montejo this evening late. I have a mile each way I can comfortably walk and it will be cooler after dark.

Party in Susie's neighborhood has been cancelled due to a death in one member's family. Our condolences are with that family and friends.

Will catch up with y'all a bit later.

Advertisement



16th September 2007

Festivals in Merida
You're going to have a good time on Paseo Montejo tonight. Go down to the south end and see Noches Mexicana - the free Saturday night festival - EVERY Saturday night! It has music and costumes from all over Mexico.
16th September 2007

flash 'em patt
you just might a new mardi gras flashing tradition in Mexico? have a good one, working ungodly hours due to the STORM.... LATER REDHED

Tot: 0.282s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0978s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb