Sunday night update


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
August 19th 2007
Published: August 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Son, Grant, left Dallas around noon today via bus for Beaumont. It's 11:19 pm and Nancy just called to say Gabriel was on the way to the bus station to pick him up. He'll be with Nancy and Gabriel for a couple of days and they plan to put him to work helping Sofia and John move in to their new house.

That is the only reason I'm still awake. Waiting to make sure he did, in fact, get to Beaumont.

Tomorrow is going to be one busy day. The tracking on Dean shows coming in below Merida now, but anything can still happen. It is reported that hurricane winds of 145 mph now reach 60 miles outward. I would be on the right (not!) side of the storm even if below me. Right side, I believe, is the bad side. Storm this big, either side is the bad side!

When the storm happens, or before if I'm told to evacuate, I will close all the windows, rearrange furniture away from windows, put towels down by my back door and batten up all the other hatches! Will clean out the frig of anything that might smell after a couple of days (one of the BEST things I did before Rita). Going to make a lot of coffee and put in the frig. Haven't done that before, but HAVE to have my coffee, hot or not. Bet it will get warm soon enough if the power is off!

I have unopened cartons of milk and juices too. Can I say NA NA NA NA BOO BOO to the good ol' southern half of the US where I have never seen such luxuries?!

Have my bag packed in case they do come knocking to evacuate. Hey, Nanc! Packed the Caribbean bag you brought me from Puerto Rico !

I will cruise the town tomorrow morning (if I have the time) on foot just to see what's happening around here. Then, I will get ready for whatever is to come.

Dean is moving fast, so I don't think it will stall over the Yucatan or Quintana Roo and try to drown us all, but once it hits the Gulf, I am really worried about all of y'all in Texas.

I have water, food, snacks, beer, Jack, flashlight, candles, books, stupid TV crossword puzzle book (what was I thinking! I haven't watched TV in years and years!) and batteries for the portable CD player. Will charge up the cell phones and iPod too before the storm gets here (or not).

Can't make the damn printer print, so I can't print out the English to what my Learn Spanish CDs say. Oh well, been this long without learning the language! My main vocal in the hours to come may be HOLY SHIT BATMAN!

We'll see.

Will blog again tomorrow the good Lord willing and the creek don't rise.

Love y'all.

Advertisement



20th August 2007

Will be keeping my fingers and toes crossed
Hi Patt, Hope everything is ok and Dean doesn't cause too much damage where you are. I'll be keeping my fingers and toes crossed that things turn out well. At least you'll be able to say you've experienced a storm somewhere else and tell us how it compared. Best wishes, Sean
21st August 2007

Dear Sean
Isn't he sweet? And he's in Hong Kong and just went though a weather 'incident'. Thanks, honey. Appreciate the encouragement.

Tot: 0.304s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1153s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb