Wrapping it up


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
February 11th 2023
Published: February 19th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Last day of two weeks of vacation. My first flight did not leave Merida until 1 so we had time to walk to breakfast and linger a bit. Cafe Montejo had the honor of the last good meal of the trip. I decided to start easing myself back into the US by having some hot cakes but with a side of fresh fruit and yogurt. Way too much food again but so good. I also had papaya juice which was super refreshing.

All morning there was a threat of rain and it held off long enough for us to get back to the Airbnb and then to get into the Uber to the airport. Once on the road it started pouring! I was glad the airport had an overhang for the drop off area! My aunt and uncle made sure I got checked in and my bag dropped. Then I headed through security (no line, very fast) and went to wait at my gate. The Merida airport was very quiet and clean. Heading home I flew Aeromexico. Let me tell you, the flight with them had lots of perks. I was allowed a free carryon, got a snack on the first flight, a hot meal on my second flight and individual movie screens for each seat. The alternate airline to get home was United, which provided none of these things for a higher price. The flight from Merida to Mexico City went off without a hitch.

Upon arrival I had an almost 3 hour layover so I went in search of a snack, which ended up being a really good ham and brie sandwich. Eventually my gate number was posted and I went to sit at the gate. Lucky me got picked for an inspection before boarding. I texted my aunt and she said they do that and sometimes make you throw out liquids you have in your carry on even if they meet the 3oz rule or you bought them in the airport. I was all worried about that. And then they announced a delay. Turned out to be the first of about 3. After the second delay I got up to go find yet another snack and a bathroom. I also let my sister know that they no longer had to pick me up as I would be getting in after midnight, which was not the 10:30 PM time we had planned. Finally, they announced boarding was happening and this time it was for real. HOORAY! The inspection turned out to be super quick. The lady looked in my bag, wanded me down, checked in my shoes and then I was free to get on the plane.

We finally landed at O'Hare about 1 am on Sunday. The immigration line was really quick and then there was a long wait for the bags to start showing up. Once I finally got my bag I headed through customs and out to call an uber. A nice lady picked me up and I arrived home a little after 3, exhausted but glad to be home.

I love traveling and was able to check two countries and one continent off my list over these two weeks. I never had a strong desire to go to Mexico, however it was interesting and I really enjoyed seeing the pyramids and haciendas. I did not like not having ice water or even cold water out of the tap, especially because it was so hot. I did enjoy all the delicious food and the friendly people. I always find the people in other countries to be very welcoming. An attempt to speak their language goes a long way to breaking down the barrier and being able to communicate.

I learned the minimum wage in Mexico is $7 a day and people doing jobs like bagging your groceries do not get paid at all. They work for tips. Imagine in the US if we did not pay the man or woman who spent their day bagging groceries. How many people would actually tip them? I also learned that you cannot flush the toilet paper. Yet every bathroom I went into was clean and, at the bare minimum, had toilet paper. Might not always have soap or a toilet seat but I can deal with that. I also learned that a private room in an Airbnb is not for me. I want my own place, no matter how friendly the hosts are.

And, the most important thing to remember while traveling, just go with the flow. Airport delays are likely, the weather may not be to your liking, you may not see everything you wanted to or the place you stay may not be perfect. As long as the majority of the trip is amazing, the rest doesn't matter. Get out there and explore the world!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb