Day 9 - Chichen Itza & Merida


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Chichén Itzá
July 7th 2013
Published: July 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Chichen ItzaChichen ItzaChichen Itza

Chichen Itza
I haven’t done a blog for day 8 but basically I spent the day by relaxing in Cancun, where I chilled by the hotel’s swimming pool and visited a nearby beach. In the evening I met my Chief Experience Officer (CEO) & fellow trekkers for the first time as I am now starting my 22 day G Adventures trip.

Anyway, we had to get up early to get to Chichen Itza which was a 3 hour coach journey from Cancun and we used the ADO bus service. Their coaches are really comfortable, which made it easy to have a nap. The coaches do get quite cold with the aircon, so I’m glad I took my fleece jacket with me.


When arrived at Chichen Itza, one of the most famous Mayan sites, we had an English speaker tour guide who showed us around all the ruins. The site was a lot bigger than I had expected and I learnt quite a bit about the Mayan culture, particularly about their beliefs in the afterlife; an example is where the Mayan's would sacrifice one of their own people in the hope that god would make it rain for them when they
Chichen ItzaChichen ItzaChichen Itza

Chichen Itza
were going through draughts.

After Chichen Itza, we got back on an ADO bus and headed for Merida, an hour and half journey. When we got to Merida, you couldn’t help but notice their churches as they were all lit up as it was starting to get dark. Once we had checked into our hotel, we walked around the pretty church town and then had a couple of drinks. I ended up having a yard which had vodka and several fruit juices in it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

MeridaMerida
Merida

Merida
Me with my YardMe with my Yard
Me with my Yard

Me with my Yard


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb