Three Cats and a New House


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Veracruz » Xalapa
November 10th 2008
Published: November 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone,

I know I have been very out-of-touch the past week or so. There have been many developments on my end including a change of residence from the home stay program to a beautiful new house with three other Canadian students from my school. Though I was not looking forward to living with three english speakers, an opportunity arose to move out of the house where I had been living since my arrival in Xalapa, with the three Mexican women and dog, and into a new place. The new residence is very beautiful, a two-story, 4-bedroom house place about ten minutes from my school and in the oppostie direction than I normally used to walk, which has allowed me to explore new parts of the city. It is a couple doors down from a very quiet small park and a couple blocks off the main road, so there's little noise other than the neighbor's two beagles that bark all day and night.

Soon after moving in my three other housemates went out and bought three very young kittens. They are hysterical and very fun to have running around the house. This new place already feels more like a home than before and it's been amazing having my own space, kitchen and freedom to come and go. This past Thursday we celebrated by cooking a large batch of cheese empanadas for us four and a small group of friends that came to celebrate with us. It's a wonderful change, though I know I have to put in some extra effort to keep using my spanish day-to-day.

The move has taken up most of the time the past week and a half. We are all settling in and getting used to the new arrangements. I am thankful to have a bit of carpentry knowledge under my belt, thanks Dad, and am going out to Home Depot today to buy some materials to make a book shelf. The house lacks ALL furniture and I have volunteered to make some of the smaller items that we wouldn't have to spend money on buying. It should be fun.

I will upload some pictures for you all at my soonest convenience. I am so sad to be away from home as many changes take place in the lives of Lindsay and Will and my love and happiness extends to them both at this exciting time in both of their lives.

Best wishes,
Barry

Advertisement



18th November 2008

Wow!
Hi Barry!! Your new digs sound wonderful! I'm so happy you're in a fun living situation. I think those home living situations only work if there is a kid of similar age -- otherwise, it doesn't make a whole lot of sense. Anyway, can't wait to hear more about cooking and furniture. And more pictures! All is well here. We miss you tons, but love what you're doing. See you in a few weeks!!! love xxxx Andrea ps heard you're doing really well at school - details please! xxxx
28th November 2008

new house & furniture
Hi Barry: How's the furniture making coming along? in my first apt. we used a couple of cinder blocks and a top of some sort for a table....we also used that kind of material for bookshelves. Plastic milk crates work too stacked upon each other for shelving. what are you sleeping on? maybe there's an IKEA somewhere???? missed you at our thanksgiving table but looking forward to your visit in december. stay well xo, always, mom

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb