Poza Rica


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Veracruz » Poza Rica
March 22nd 2011
Published: March 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I stayed an extra day at La Pesca because I liked it there and because I was tired. I drove today until I started to lose daylight and took the first hotel I ran across. It's not a bad place or very expensive so I got lucky as far as that goes. The dreaded "check engine" light came on somewhere along the way so that's not so lucky. I'm not sure what I should do about that since I haven't seen another Silly Scion since Texas. I did check and the engine is still there so that's that for that, I guess.

I have to leave this blog to get something to eat. I didn't eat anything all day except for some coconut dusted in some kind of spicy cocoa. This I got from a woman selling stuff to motorists waiting to cross a toll bridge. It was a peculiar snack. I wish I knew what it was. I'm probably going to die...


Advertisement



22nd March 2011

CEL
Well, bad news... I asked SBs if there was a way to flash out our CEL codes... I couldn't find a way, but I did score 9 SB! In the US most auto parts stores will read it for free. From there, I recommend asking the internet what the codes mean; unless you want to guess what it says in Spanish. I would check the gas cap. Most of the time CEL problems are nothing major, the service light is the major problems. However, I would see if you could get the code read. Somewhere in Mexico there has to be an ODBII reader...
22nd March 2011

Glad to hear you're moving along. The check engine light could be something almost meaningless, or it could indicate armageddon. I might be able to do some research on this for you. What year is the Silly Scion? How many miles does it have? Is it the "Check Engine" light, or the maintenance light? Or I could meet you down there, since I have a check engine light reader. Carry on.
22nd March 2011

Check engine light
If you have gas, oil and coolant and an engine that is seemingly running decent otherwise, I would venture that it is the oxygen sensor on the exhaust. Not a real huge deal might kill a little of your gas mileage and/or your catalytic converter. What sort of octane doe they run down there? D

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb