Raising a Road Warrior


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Sonora » Hermosillo
December 20th 2022
Published: January 9th 2023
Edit Blog Post

My son Javan is a great camera assistant, an excellent workout buddy, and an awesome traveler.

On this trip, Javan was by my side at every moment. He was operating cameras, helping with lens changes, connecting microphones and such. He was also performing alongside me, talking on camera and doing filmed workouts for the new documentary. He got up early when we had to, and I accommodated his needs by taking meal breaks more often than I normally would on a job like this, and going to bed much earlier at night (no crazy athlete parties for me this year).

Javan was essential for this project. If I didn't have Javan with me, who would have been witness to the unmanned border we crossed effortlessly on the way into Mexico and the absolutely insane border nightmare of crossing into the USA from Nogales? Who would have been there to keep me safe and alive (and to tell the story if I wasn't)? Who would I have been working out with and holding discussions with in the documentary footage? Perhaps most importantly, who would be there to photograph me using this goofy squat machine we found at HardCore Fitness that makes me look like I'm pooping?

I was very impressed by Javan's resourcefulness and stamina as a traveler. He made friends easily, coped well with unexpected surprises, didn't whine or complain (much), carried heavy bags, and put up with long and busy days. There was also that one time when he drove the rental car (shhh, don't tell anybody). The most stressful part of the trip was probably our last day (leaving Mexico). I was surprised on the airplane home to see him so composed, alert, and happy, even after all we'd been through that day. This was my proud Dad moment. I have managed to raise a good travel buddy.

I guess it's only reasonable, considering that my wife (an African) and myself (a North American) met in Asia, and that when we married we resolved to spend as much of our lives as possible traveling. This means little Javan has grown up bouncing around between continents for fun, work, and family. He took his first trip to Kenya when he was 10 months old, lived in Thailand for a year when he was 2 and 3, went to the East Coast of the USA a couple of times, and to California with his grandparents. Canada is just over the border (or the ferry), so we go there often. He's been on at least four trips to East Africa, stopping in Europe or the Middle East on the way. And now he's been to Mexico. He's only 11. Can you imagine where he'll go in the future?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 17; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0744s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb