Quintana Roo, Mexico


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Xcalak
May 1st 2014
Published: May 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Where is Xcalak? I spend countless hours and days of my life fly fishing and found that I especially love salt water fly fishing. I have traveled to many places in the Caribbean and will blog about some of those at a later time but wish to talk about the southern most part of Mexico along the Belizian boarder. It is one of the few places on the planet that still does not know that it exists nor do many people in the world. The more fascinating aspect to this picture is that the fish don't know what a good thing they have.

I first found this isolated location back in the late 1980s with a guide I still use from Belize and the fishing was awesome to say the least. The country was what dreams are made of and how we got there was by a flats boat that traveled the most scenic passage. I have had many sleepless nights envisioning those days on the water in the far south of Mexico.

More recently I have gone back, but this time through Mexico and by bus to get to the same location of mystical proportions. I was deeply saddened to see a country that was in disarray, impoverished, and crime ridden. Now I did spend some of my travel at night and along desolate roads and where I should have know better. Scary was not the only thought I was having. The people that I spoke to and saw did not seem to know anything but how to find a means to survive and a few were interested in how to get what you had. Coming to the location to fish by land did not make it the same place I had been time and again by sea.

I will now spend time in my head thinking about how I might better help in some capacity the people of that region. I will not be able to fix anything but maybe just maybe I will be able to help them appreciate the beauty of where they are and who they are.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb