Xcaret what a wonderful place


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Playa del Carmen
September 23rd 2006
Published: September 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi a little snapshot of what I did yesterday.

I spent the day at Xcaret which is another eco water park. Started off by snorkelling an underground river about 2k long which was pretty groovy, swam with the dolphins and was kissed on the cheek by a dolphin. I have a pic of this but not digital so will have to wait to show you when I get home. They are so smooth and very cheeky. Then I ventured off on the sea trek which is where you put a big bubble on your head and walk on the bottom of the ocean something like the old diving suits they used to have with an air hose connecting you at the top. It was a little freaky but ok once you got going, fish swimming around everywhere. Spent the afternoon kicking back in a hammock and bought Steph and Ellie more pressies.

I went to close my back pack today and had to use the expand zipper. Still 3 weeks to go will have to buy an extra bag in Cuba and store some in Havana before I head off carrying it on my back otherwise its just not gonna happen!!

At night at XCaret they have a Mexico Espectacular which is a celebration of all the different parts of Mexico and some of its history. It was fabulous!!

It started with a welcome song from a little girl with an absoloutely amazing voice (not that I could understand what she was singing), then there was a leaders parade where people dressed as the Great Lords hit the stage. Following this a demonstration of Pok ta´Pok¨¨ which was an ancient latex rubber ball game where they hit the balls with their hips. Imagine a baseball player sliding into home base this is the action they dived sideways almost horizontal so that the ball would hit them on the hip, Then they demonstrated a game which was played with a burning ball of fire called Uarhukua and they hit it with hockey stick this was brilliant and I have some good video of that and have loaded it so hope you can view it. Next a scene which represents the merger of two different cultures with the Spaniards arrival resulting in what the Mexican´s proudly call themselves today a mixed race full of tradition.

The second part
DolphinsDolphinsDolphins

This was an amazing experience to swim with and touch them
of the show represented acts from Oaxaca, Yucatan, Michoacan, Veracruz, Mexico City, North of Mexico, Tabusco, and then Jalisco followed by the grand finale.

Amazing singing, dancing, music and colour. Horses and rope tricks.

In the Veracruz bit there was an exhibition by the Papantla Fliers which are four bird men descend from the top of a tree pole upside down hanging by their feet and they spin around the pole. Pretty groovy. it was an ancient ceremony offered to the god of spring in exchange for a good harvest and fertile soil. Can´t see the farmers in Australia getting into it though.

If any of you are thinking of going to Mexico don´t miss this it was brilliant and a great way to see the traditional cultures of each of the regions in one night!!

Overall a 12 hour day so I am a little tired today haning out in the internet cafe before I get picked up to go to the airport.

I so much want to come back to Mexico again. Next time it would be good to share the experience with someone else I think.

Not sure how the internet situation will be in Cuba I have heard it can be a little dodgy so don´t know when my next update will be exactly. Hope you are all having fun and getting ready for Spring Carnival. I can´t wait for Oaks Day...

Adios for now and remember a margarita a day keeps the Dr away. I have been having at least 3 so that means the DR is sooo far away from me...love to you all

Sim xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Shots from the showShots from the show
Shots from the show

The game with the ball of fire
Shots from the showShots from the show
Shots from the show

the guys haning upside down spinning that I mentioned


Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.114s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb