Stay off My Bicycles (& Photos)


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Playa del Carmen
December 6th 2007
Published: December 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

MariachisMariachisMariachis

Tough to see because it was dark
I haven't done a blog for quite awhile because things have been pretty much the same - morning class, with me being absolutely lost, and afternoons at the beach. The tan is finally coming a little. Someone thought I was Mexican yesterday and started speaking in super speedy Spanish (which I know Brian will love - Gringsta).

Right when I thought I might lose some weight here, we found this amazing little Mom & Pops place that serves a dish called Puntas de Res a la Mexicana. Stewed beef with tomatoes, onions, peppers, white rice (nobody serves Mexican rice) and these amazing black beans. I'm going to get some as soon as I'm done writing.

I've run into a few Americans (even some people from Cedar Rapids) but mostly everyone is European. I bought a football at Walmart and it is the draw of the beach. Everyone wants to come up and try a few throws - and it usually isn't very pretty.

My Spanish teacher Pepe had the quote of the day yesterday. He speaks very bad English, and when one of the guys in class was talking about the Blue Parrot dancers being cute (who our
Out For BeersOut For BeersOut For Beers

The first of many
teacher knows - very well...) he said, "Hey, amigo, stay off of my bicycles or I will have to give you more homework."

I've even gotten a few turns to run the hostel front desk where I live. When we get home from the bars the guys will ask us to cover the desk while they go out for a break, so we just rock the sound system and talk to drunk people. We tried to give someone a room last night for double price and keep half as a joke, but I think that got us demoted back to guest only status.

I'm glad that I'm missing out on all the crappy weather back home! Stay out of the snow/ice and see you all soon.







Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Route to SchoolRoute to School
Route to School

Sometimes the sidewalk just isn't there anymore.
Hippie Chicks RuleHippie Chicks Rule
Hippie Chicks Rule

Apparently its true - even in Mexico, Hippie Chicks Rule


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb