Farewell Mexico


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Chetumal
December 23rd 2006
Published: December 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi blog readers (I was trying to think of a better name for you all than that but I haven't thought of one yet - suggestions on a postcard)

After a week on Isla Mujeres, it was time to move on southwards down the rest of the Yucatan peninsula. My next stop was Playa del Carmen, known to the locals as simply Playa. The history of Cancun and Playa is interesting. In the 1970s, Cancun was simply a small strip of land hanging off the end of the Yucatan peninsula in the shape of a number 7. The main road bypassed the area and carried on to the ferry port so people could get to Isla Mujeres. All that was in Cancun was a small village and miles of unspoilt beaches. The Mexican government thought, "aye, aye - there could be something here". They spent money tarting up the area and a new super resort was born. I took bus ride along the Cancun strip. It now boasts many, many huge hotels, restaurants and shopping complexes. I suppose it's the US equivalent of Spain for us Brits. A short flight, lots of package deals and lots of good weather. There's not much that's authentically Mexican about the place but for a 7 or 14 day holiday, I can see the attraction. In fact, my old secretary from London, was having a holiday at one of the all-inclusive resorts at the same time. I wandered past the hotel she was staying in. There was no chance of getting in without one of the magic bracelets that shows you are a paying guest.

Playa del Carmen has a similar history to Cancun. What started out as a small fishing village has been transformed into a resort that caters for travellers from the US. There is a wide avenue set one block back from the beach. The avenue is lined with eateries and boozing houses. I want a big cheer for the next bit. I even resisted the temptation to go into McDonalds and Burger King. The weather finally turned hot and I spent the days lazing on the beach, swimming when it got too hot for my pasty white English skin.

So, I'm minding my own business one morning looking for breakfast when my old secretary, Lilize, taps me on the shoulder and says hi. It's quite a shock when you're thousands of miles from home and you see someone you know. We had a coffee and she filled me in on all the office gossip. Disappointingly, not much scandal to be had. So for those of you disbelievers who think I am typing this blog from the comfort of a hidden bunker somewhere in deepest, darkest Yorkshire, there is now proof that I am actually on this trip.

After 3 days in Playa, I headed for the border town of Chetumal. I bumped into an English traveller called Tracy (hooray) who was catching the same bus. Even though the bus was full of Christmas travellers, we were able to sit in adjoining seats for the 5 hour journey. She was journeying to visit her boyfriend (boo) on a yacht in Belize. She was a Londoner so we swapped some good stories and she gave me some good traveller tips. She decided to stay in Chetumal too. We had a meal together which I am counting as a date, boyfriend notwithstanding.

Chetumal was not exactly bigged up in my guide book so I wasn't expecting much. I was pleasantly surprised. The town had gone crazy on the Christmas decs and lights. After a day of 90 degree heat, I still chuckle when I see snowmen and reindeer lighting up the sky. Tracy left for an early night and I decided to buy some water for my room. Only a few steps further down the road, I bumped into two people I had met back on Isla Mujeres. Tom and Anna from Massachusetts are doing a very similar route to me so it was great to bump into them again. We sampled a few beers and swapped emails. The chances are that we will bump into each other again in Belize. If things go according to plan, it may be the case that our paths will cross again in a few days. Bumping into people I had met before made me feel like more of a proper traveller.

So, it's farewell to Mexico. I've tried to cram as many diverse parts of the country as I can into the 3 weeks I have been here but, in reality, I have only skimmed the surface. It's a hude country, much bigger than I imagined. It was a culture shock at first but Mexico has grown on me. But, if I'm going to make it to Panama by 31 January, I have to move on (theme tune from The Littlest Hobo is now entering my head). That's hobo style.

Next time - found out how I get on in Belize, my home for Christmas 2006. Will I get turkey for Christmas dinner?

May I also take this opportunity to wish all you blog readers a very Merry Christmas. Remember, Christmas is about giving and drinking - or something like that!

Be in touch soon

Joff

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb