Part Two


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Akumal
December 19th 2008
Published: December 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

12/18/2008 - 7:30 p.m.

It’s 7:30 and I’m struggling to find the energy to type this. It doesn’t help that it’s pitch black by 6 p.m. The city of Akumal wound up being nothing that we had anticipated and quickly came back. Definitely no crab to satisfy our craving.

Yesterday we went to Playa Del Carmen, hoping to find crab there since Akumal was a little disappointing, but a local said you can only find crab at upscale restaurants. Lobster you can find anywhere, crab....not a chance. We spent hours there shopping, eating, and walking the beach. This is the first vacation VACATION we’ve taken. No sight seeing, no adventures (aside from very occasional diving), just relaxing and enjoying the sun.

Speaking of that....our savage tans are now savage burns. I wear 50 proof block, baby block no less, and I still got a killer burn on my back and back of my thighs. I think from laying and it rubbing on the towel. Will have to be more careful next time. Alex wore 30, but again, probably from rubbing on the towel. I started wearing the baby sun block because I thought maybe I was allergic to the regular stuff, but I guess it’s just the sun. I’m still breaking out in a rash on my arms. Hey, why not be allergic to the sun? I mean, I do have to go get tested for possibly being allergic to fluoride when we get home, why not something else that’s almost completely unavoidable? haha...fortunately , it's not to bad.

We went snorkeling again, this time I saw two sea turtles. I love that I can dive down next to them and they don’t care.

Another attempt at scuba diving today and it was a success. We both got in and down with no problems. The other day, it wasn’t just Alex’s ears as it turns out, he didn’t have enough weight either and couldn’t get down. I didn’t have enough weight at first, but the dive master put another 3 pounds in my BC (the vest) and then helped pull me down. TODAY, however, we loaded up with weights, had no problems with our ears, and did great.

We dove with three guys from Utah. Watching them made me cringe. When you get certified through the Divers Mast in Jackson, they train you to keep your hands folded in front of you, don’t touch anything, and how to put on your equipment so your dive computer isn’t dragging and hitting the coral.

That’s not the case with a most other certification processes apparently. These three were the worst. Everything you could think of from their dive computer dragging, to flailing their hands around, to touching everything. As if the Mexican coral doesn’t look bad enough. Fortunately, they ran out of air pretty quickly and had to surface so we continued on without them.

Anywho, the dive was okay. We did great as far as getting down, ears clearing, ect, but the water was a lot more murky and less to see today. Not sure what happened.

Tomorrow, we plan on sleeping in and doing nothing.....AGAIN. Well, even less than today, we’re not even going to dive. We are going to shop though. There’s anklets for $3.00, necklaces for $9.00......how can you beat that? Now it’s almost 8:00 p.m........time for sleep 😊

Advertisement



19th December 2008

Okay......... so MAYBE all that fun in the sun is MORE fun than shoveling and snowblowing.........MAYBE!! We've got quite a bit of white stuff and it ain't sand! HAVE FUN!!!!!!!!! Mom xxxooo

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0751s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb