Living in Mexico.


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Puebla
June 6th 2016
Published: June 6th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I've been in Mexico for a month now, living with with a Mexican host family and teaching English. It's been a hectic experience so far, almost entirely in a good way!



My routine during the week is pretty similar to what my life would be like during the UK; I go to the gym in the morning, eat a second breakfast, and then either relax at home or go to work. I teach from 4pm to 9pm Monday to Friday. I spend a few hours outside of this time planning classes, and quite often arrive at the school a few hours early to make use of their WiFi, or simply to plan. There's a long table outside for us to sit at, and it's a pretty relaxing environment for planning classes in. I predominantly teach adults here, with a smattering of teenagers thrown in. It's a change from Taiwan, where I had mostly classes of kids under 11 years old. I do miss teaching the younger age group, but I have a lot more energy outside of class here! Adults are motivated in very different ways to kids; as they're attending the school of their own volition, and consequently want to get as much from the classes as humanly possible. Kids tend to need a bit more coaxing, and have an innate desire to eschew book work wherever possible...



The host family that I live with are extremely open and relaxed with me, and I feel like I've known them a lot longer than a month. They're very social, and spend a lot of time together, including with their extended family. It's unusual for me, as I grew up away from my extended family, to meet so many new members of the same family. They spend a lot of time together, and make an effort to meet up once a fortnight, give or take. They always make me feel included in conversation, and my Spanish is improving every day as a result. I chat with the children in English, and with the adults in Spanish, so the dynamic works well for everybody. Cultural quirks are part and parcel of living with a host family, and one such quirk is that it's fairly normal for people to have to shout a few times for another family member before they're acknowledged. They're also amazingly tolerant of noise, whether it's dogs barking, phones beeping, or loud music. 3 things that would elicit a polite request to desist with in the UK are not even acknowledged here. I'm pretty relaxed and patient myself, and the only thing I've found remotely irksome is the neighborhood dogs all barking in unison. One will start the symphony, and then the others join in until they gradually ascend to a fever pitch.



Last night, I went to a party with my host family. There were a good 20 people at the party, including about 10 family members I hadn't previously met. We played word games in Spanish, and I managed not to disgrace myself. We ate porcoles (I think that's how you spell it, but I've never seen it written down...) which is soup with meat, vegetables, salt, and a type of corn used specifically for the dish. It was delicious, and I ate about 3 bowlfuls during the course of the evening. I love the relaxed nature of the family, and the ease with which conversation comes to them. They were very curious about my travels, family, and religious views. Questions included "Where's the best place you've visited?" (Accompanied by a mock shocked face when I didn't say Mexico) "Why is your lip like this?" *pulls lip up*, and "Do you want to marry a Mexican woman?". My attempted explanation that I don't believe in marriage, or follow a particular religion, was received with a lot of surprise (marriage and religion are both very important here), and after they'd analysed me for any obviously perfidious qualities, I was given more cake, and the conversation continued.



The first aspect of Mexico that springs to mind in most foreigners' minds is MEXICAN FOOD! The hype is justified; it's delicious, and there are so many different things to try. I've been through a few in previous blogs, but have added quesadillas (tortillas filled with meat and cheese), porcoles (described above), and a few other dishes to my armory. Re-fried beans, eggs, and fruit are a common breakfast. I tend to eat bread and fruit before the gym, and then partake in whatever Rosa (the mother in my host family) is cooking when I get home. (Or I eat tuna sandwiches, if there's nothing going)



As a consequence of financial difficulties I encountered before arriving in Mexico, I haven't got much saved up from Taiwan. I haven't yet done a trip outside of Tehuacan, but the opportunity will present itself very soon. All in all, I'm feeling very good about the experience so far, and am seriously considering a longer stay here. Regardless, I shall be equipped with Spanish for my travels, and plenty of fond memories of the lovely family I live with!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb