Back in the U.S. (sob)


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Zipolite
June 11th 2006
Published: June 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Samuel playing his drumSamuel playing his drumSamuel playing his drum

This precious little boy calls me "Lellie"
The journey began again today, in reverse. Derek picked me up at my place on the beach. Since Steve (the traveling Englishman) was leaving this day as well, we gave him a ride to the bus station.

We took a bus from Pochutla to Huatulco, which was about a 1 hour ride. Derek had to use the bathroom so badly that the bumps and stops and starts of the bus made "holding it" excruciating to him, which entertained the children in the seat in front of us.

I flew from Huatulco back to Mexico City. On the plane, I was seated next to a man who asked me questions about my trip, about Zipolite, about myself. He apparently thought I was Mexican as well, although my non-flowing Spanish probably revealed me as an American. He told me he is looking for people to manage his real estate projects in Mexico and asked if I would be interested. I said of course I would, but I do have a daughter and would have to take all of that into consideration. And I am not a salesperson! He said I SOLD him on Zipolite with my passion for the place... He bought me lunch in Mexico City, where we discussed aspects of the job, and the upcoming sales training session in August in PLAYA DEL CARMEN. Something to ponder.

Upon arrival in DFW, my luggage did not show up on the baggage carousel...I had a bad feeling about that all the way from Huatulco. Long story short, it was on the conveyor to go back to Mexico City and was finally found by American Airlines personnel. Something weird with my Mexicana ticket although it was an AA flight. Who knows?

It was odd to be back in the U.S. where I then felt like I was a foreigner. I wanted to continue to speak Spanish, as I was becoming much more comfortable with it. I apparently wasn't ready for full re-immersion into the pace of my normal life, after such a peaceful stay in Mexico. I have taken vacations before, a few times to Mexico and the Bahamas, but this one was by far my favorite. It had truly been a retreat.

The first thing I did when back in the States was take a HOT bath. I had taken my Bali-style shower this morning (I thought I was relatively clean), so I was amazed at the dirt that come off of me. I guess it had soaked in for the past 6 days. There was even sand in the tub when I drained it, like there is in my daughter's tub after she has played in the sandbox! It made me laugh to myself seeing that.

The first day back at work was depressing to say the least. I felt odd wearing pants instead of shorts, and "real" shoes instead of flip flops. After 10 minutes at my desk in front of the computer, I felt as though the positive effects of my vacation had just evaporated. Back to the constant noise - not physical noise, but the noise within myself.

This vacation had a definite theme - I had written in my journal about not living in the moment, about worries, fears, and my general discontent; I was given so many answers to my questions without even asking, through the people I met, such as the two Englishmen (Steve & Peter), Michael the expatriate, and Abraham the Lebanese Mexican. And the full moon on the beach. (Sorry if that sounds earth-mothery and flaky. Just speaking the truth.)

For now, I just have to keep remembering to relax and focus, and to keep that Oaxacan mentality with me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb