To close one chapter…


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Tlacolula
December 1st 2011
Published: April 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Monarch ButterflyMonarch ButterflyMonarch Butterfly

This was taken at the home in Tlacolula
I promised a certain Dave and Wendy that I wound finish blogging about my travels in Mexico AGES ago; and to be honest, I have had a really difficult time coming up with the words that would end that chapter in my life. I returned home with mixed feelings about everything I had experienced over the previous year. In fact, I am still working through my thoughts and feelings. My foundations were rocked. My beliefs were questioned. My understandings of “self” and “community” were shifted. I came home with an unsatisfied feeling; like I had this pit in my stomach that I couldn’t get rid of but I didn’t know exactly what it was.

I wanted to help; but I felt helpless.

I wanted to be able to pray; but I didn’t see its effectiveness.

I wanted to feel happy and thankful; but I was sad and discontented.

It’s easy for someone to go somewhere for a few weeks and come home with wonderful feelings of encouragement and motivation...you hear the sad stories about the children, you play with them and see their smiling faces, you do a lot of hard work and perform incredible deeds that really do help out the staff at the home, but you never truly experience the gravity and the weight that is felt “behind the scenes”. But to live there and see what goes on every day is a very different experience.

Mexico, to me, was a place where witchcraft was real; a place where religion was conservative; a place where people traveled for hours just to see a mal-suited doctor; a place where children were doing everything they could just to get through the day. I saw people seize and faint after being “overwhelmed” by the spirit. I saw children who smiled on the outside, but were depressed and anxious behind closed doors. I saw what it was like to live outside of a first world country. I saw and experienced this…and my roots were shaken.

Don’t get me wrong. Mexico was an incredible experience – one that I will always cherish. I will never forget the wonderful people I was blessed to meet and work with, or the children who would laugh at my sloppy Spanish but insist on playing anyways. I will always be glad for the wonderful opportunity that allowed me to live with my best friend for a year. I will always be thankful, that through everything, I was able to discover a side of me that was drawn to nursing. I do believe that my time in Mexico started the journey that I am walking along today.



To sum up all up, my year in Mexico was…

Enlightening



I learned a lot about my beliefs and myself.

I learned to feel challenged and how to live outside of my comfort box.

I learned that people grow on a daily basis and that you are never to old to learn something new.

I learned that life is short. You never know what circumstances you will be dealing with and should never be afraid to go on an adventure.

I learned that language skills might not be my forte. I wish I learned to speak Spanish more affluently over the year and am a little disappointed in myself for not trying harder. However, I still plan to be trilingual one day and know that I can do it!

I learned a lot about other people and other cultures. It’s a humbling experience to have someone who you know can hardly afford to eat everyday offer you the food at their table and the comforts of their home.

I learned that really, the world would be a better place if we loved others more graciously and accepted love a little more willingly.

I learned that I have a heart for healing and that nursing really is the career path for me.

Bible Verse of the Month(s)



I decided to end my journey with a verse from the last devotional I ran while at the home. I feel that it is fitting to the feelings that I was experiencing near the end of my travels.

I remember my affliction and my wandering, the bitterness and the gall. I will remember them, and my soul is downcast within me. Yet this I call to mind and therefore have hope: Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. Lamentations 3:19-32

Every one experiences trials of one way or another throughout their lifetime. But it’s encouraging to know that God will never give you more than you can
Independence DayIndependence DayIndependence Day

The kinder kids were part of the parade!
chew. The struggles in life are meant to teach you and help you grow. We will mess up and fail sometimes, we may even have regrets; but God’s compassion and love never fails. Despite my feelings of confusion and wondering at the end of my time in Mexico, I know that God has a plan for me and I have hope.


Highlights



SEPTEMBER

* Not a lot happened in September, which was actually really nice. I was able to spend some time with the other volunteers, practice my Spanish, make sure the Visitor’s Center was in tip-top shape for our next team, and help the kids with their English homework. I was really nice to be able to relax and enjoy my time at the home knowing that I was to leave in a few short months.

* September 16th was Mexico Independence Day! Tlacolula celebrated by having the local schools and businesses participate in a big parade that travelled through the village’s streets. As a bunch of our kids got to dress up and participate in the parade, most of the staff from the home made sure to be there to watch and take pictures. Celina was looking as cute as always in a little traditional white gown and got to ride in a little carriage with Luis and Debbie. At various intervals, the older students would stop in small groups and do pyramids, play instruments or throw things in the air to get a rise from the crowd. It was really fun to watch and see our kids participate in!



OCTOBER

* We had two groups visit up in October. From October 1 – 9, Waukesha First Assembly of God was visiting and working at the home and from October 15 – 22 we housed Trinity Baptist Church. This kept me pretty busy for most of October as we worked on activities at the home and then did some tours around Oaxaca.

* For Canadian Thanksgiving, Jess and I went to Mitla with Ian and Elaine to have a turkey feast with the other Canadian missionaries. It was nice to meet some of the other Canadians (young and old) who had made their life in Mexico. We had a nice meal and great conversation!

* Near the end of October, my parents came to visit! It was
el Dia de los Muertosel Dia de los Muertosel Dia de los Muertos

This was a shrine built at the hotel in Huatulco.
really nice to finally be able to show them around Oaxaca and introduce them to all of the people and places I had been talking about since January. It’s nice to feel supported from the ones you love!

* After visiting Oaxaca, Jess and I took a vacation and went to Huatulco with my parents. I do believe that despite the nausea and the feeling that you may fall off a cliff at any time, the crazy van ride through the mountain was my dad’s favourite thing the entire trip! He sat in the front and took pictures the entire time. I, on the other hand, sat in the back and couldn’t wait for the drive to end.

* We met the rest of my family at the resort in Huatulco. It was SO much fun to spend some time relaxing on the beach with my family, visiting the city of Huatulco, and snorkelling in the ocean. This was our first EVER family vacation and I can’t wait to have some more.



NOVEMBER

* Jess had left earlier in the week so Becky and I travelled back to Oaxaca on our own. We happened to leave on November 1, which is El Dia de los Muertos (Day of the Dead) in Mexico. This in itself was a really interesting experience. I remember in the van ride back, a few people would get in from various mountain villages carrying orange flowers. There were also tons of shrines set up on the side of the road covered with candles and those same orange flowers. When we got to Oaxaca, Jess and Julia took us for dinner in the Zocalo. It was really fun to be there as the city was buzzing with festivities for el dia de los muertos. It felt a little like Halloween…but with more skeletons.

* Becky’s visit in Oaxaca was also really fun. I knew at this point that a lot of the touring I would do with her would be the last time that I visited these places. I said a small goodbye to each place as we left as it began to hit home that this was the end of my time in Mexico.

* Every other weekend, Jess was scheduled to take care of the kinder boys so that Alondra would have some time off. One of these Saturdays, we decided to take the boys to Oaxaca for McDonalds and to play at the park. It was nice to have one final outing with the boys.

* American Thanksgiving was also in November. A group of people came from Chicago to make a big meal for all of the staff and children at the home. They used every single oven in the entire home but it was SO worth it. Turkey, stuffing, potatoes, salad…it was a feast like none other! We also had a great time playing games.

* Near the end of November, we had a special ceremony at the church to baptise Luc and Nathan. It was neat to see the community come together to support and care for these two special boys.



DECEMBER

* I left Mexico a few weeks early due to sudden news that my uncle Don had passed away. Growing up, my uncle Don frightening me with his straightforward attitude and rough demeanour…but in my age (and his), I began to appreciate his humour and saw his compassion. He was a good man, brother and father, who was lost too early. I wanted to be home to support my cousins and my mother through this difficult time; so, on December 1, 2011, my journey in Mexico came to a close.



Prayer Updates



1. Jill has officially adopted Nathan! Celina’s adoption is still in the works but things are looking very promising. I know that Jill is feeling the stress and is really looking forward to a time when both Celina and Nathan are unconditionally part of her family.

2. Carmen and Fabien have adopted Luke and have also had a baby boy of their own.

3. Andrea and Ricardo have moved to Baja California with Micah and Alfredo.

4. Janelle is working for FFHM in San Clemente.

5. Julia is continuing her studies to be a teacher in California.

6. Jess worked as house mom for another 6 months before returning home. She is now working in Ottawa.




"Each morning is the open door to a new life - new vistas, new aims, new tryings." - Leigh Hodges


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb