The other way home


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
October 18th 2006
Published: October 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sorry that I am at this point unable to get the photos on here. I will have to read further.
Anyway, did I mention that the house is located on a hill? A steep hill? I walked down to the store, because the little one up the street has so few items. I swear the angle of incline is over 45%. The cement surface is grooved, but slipping, esp. where sand has been dumped, is possible. The trip back had my legs throbbing. I pretended to stop to check out the view, but really I was sweating and out of breath. Today I ache. Guess I won't need to find a gym! There is another, less direct but less steep route that I'll attempt this afternoon. Exciting to begin discovering the neighborhood. Construction is underway in every direction - by hand, so the atmosphere is lively with the sound of hammers and shovels and whistling. Mostly cement, brick, and what looks like tin or some sort of metal, often with designs printed on it. The feel is at once both ancient and in process, but not modern. Wonderfully human in scale, and practical. Crumbling and being built. Whereas I was more that a little nervous to leave, every moment slipping away, the present here is vital and alive. Have been listening to APPO radio. Still no resolution, but undaunted they continue on. Moving testimony and revolutionary music.
Anti-Ruiz graffii on every possible surface. I did see one barricad: two massive trucks, covered with slogans, blocking the street.
I was assured that the explosions that I'm hearing, day and night, are in fact fireworks, and that there will be more as we approach los dias de Muertos. I think that I may have found someone, a weaver, to teach me Zapotec.


Advertisement



18th October 2006

HeyH, it's working
Zapotec is a style of weaving? Very interesting. All is well here, rain threatens, but not seriously. Glad to get the blog, look forward to more. Stay safe, I'll keep checking in. P.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb