Los Salamontes -- Grasshoppers anyone?


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
October 27th 2013
Published: October 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I have just arrived back at my Homestay having completed 20 Hours (4 hours daily) learning
Spanish at the Cultural Institute in Oaxaca. Woa, have to keep pinching myself to realise that am in Southern Mexico in the beautiful, lively city of Oaxaca and its the week before La Dia de La Muerta and the whole place is popping with firework explosions right through the night (even though there’s another week to go.)

Been quite a week beginning with a beast of a journey involving 3 flights and long waits at airports (they are the worst) either I dont have enough time or I have a 6 hour wait!
Arrival more dead than alive and ride through the bustling streets on a Sunday in taxi collectiva clutching the address in my sweaty hand, and I was the last to be dropped off, but fortunately my landlady was at home waiting for me!

20 minute walk each morning down busy road (and you have to see the buses to believe) then into the Institute for 3 hours spanish lesson then 1 hour conversation. Then maybe into the centre to walk around, visit museo to gawk at the ancient aztec figurines , jewellery, wander around georgeous Santo Domingo all dressed up with pillars adorned with garlands , you have to see them to believe-- for festival, bus home ( I stay near the hospital so i just jump on bus following white uniform and hope for the best --- its worked so far!

Have also taken class en la cocina involving the biggest, noisest market (landlady says its dangerous!) buying mole ingredients, with the students and teacher thankfully and cooking mole and tamales see photos! Also snacking on local delicacy -- los salamontes!

So here I am with sore feet from walking to the Plaza for sightseeing and beer ---- poor me! Manyana (tomorrow) bus tour thinking about saving poor feet! to big site on mountains with Pyramids! Then another week of Spanish culminating with the grand Halloween La Dia Dos Muertos!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb