Oaxaca, Mexico Rocks!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
August 9th 2008
Published: August 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to my Oaxaca, Mexico Blog. June 28 thru July 26, 2008 i successfully completed a spanish language & cultural studies at Universidad Regional del Sureste (URSE) in Oaxaca, MX. The Southern State of Oaxaca is incredible! I entered the proram through OCC in Michigan and 10 students helped complete the 10th anniversary of the excellent immersion program or Intercambio Educativo Cultural Program; in conjunction with URSE - Oaxaca. I lived with 2 loving and marvelous host families and both families did an outstanding job making me feel at home. Based on my most enjoyable experiences, i found the Oaxacian people to be: proud of their rich indigenous culture, strong believers in following the traditions of their ancestors, displays affection frequently by holding-hands in public, strong catholic religious beliefs and practices, patient and easy-going, and did everything to make sure we ALL were fully embraced / loved by their families. Oh yes, the food in Oaxaca is "muy rico", or very delicious!! Some of my tour highlights included Monte Alban, Zaachila, El Tule, Mitla, Santa Domingo historical church, mercados , birth place of Benito Juarez, gastro tour [IUO, instituto universitario de Oaxaca], La Guelaguetza and Puerto Escondido which took my breath away! In closing, i am enormously grateful for all my new friends, relationships and this life changing experience which has made me a much better person - seriously!!!!! My Oaxaca experiences helped me to better understand myself and the borders & languages that separate us as a global community - "we are all connected through the infinite WISDOM and Designs of GOD", and that is the TRUTH. Adios.



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb