Adios Oaxaca


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
May 18th 2007
Published: May 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

ChiapasChiapasChiapas

Finishing up photos from Chiapas..View from the boat to Yaxchitlan
This is probably my last blog entry from Oaxaca, which now feels like home. I can't believe how fast the 4 months has gone, and I am not yet ready to say goodbye to Oaxaca. However, I am very excited to see my friends and family at home and experience "reverse culture shock."

The good news is I am finally finished with classes! YAY! Actually, as of this moment I am in the process of finishing up our final paper, but as soon as I turn it in I am FREE! Yesterday there was a going away party for our group at the Institute with our families, teachers, and others that work at ICO. It was complete with a pinata (which I had the honor to finish off!) and delicious Oaxacan food. Although I only have 3 days left I have a lot to do. This afternoon my family is having a birthday party for my host sister Micha, and tonight the group is going to a Guelaguetza, which is a traditional Oaxaca show complete with food and dancing (kind of like a Luau, but Oaxacan style). This weekend we are spending time with our families and going to
ChiapasChiapasChiapas

Lizard!
all of our favorite places one last time.

Tuesday was teacher's day, which means all the Oaxacan teachers march through the city to ask for their annual raise. It was interesting to see what would happen since last year it began the entire political protests and they took over the Zocalo with the APPO, but it was peaceful and it was over fairly early. I saw part of it as they passed the Institute, and was amazed at how many people participate.

The other very good news is that our professor is doing much better. He is back at the private clinic and off of the respirator. They are hoping to send him home soon. Since he was so sick and in a coma for a while, he is confused about what was real and not real, and very emotional, but overall much better. Everyone is very relieved to say the least.

Here is a list of things I will miss most about Oaxaca (there are much more I can't think of at the moment):

My host family
The banda secreta (aka the Linfield group)
Friday excursions
The Zócalo, Santo Domingo, and Llano
The markets
Working
ChiapasChiapasChiapas

Big tree
at Instituto McKinley
Walking everywhere
Sunshine
Crazy storms
Going out at night
Reggaeton
Italian Coffee Company
Oswald’s café
Breaks at the ICO
Baseball games
My enormous bedroom
Random shopping trips and adventures
Spanglish and Spanish slang
Lavenderia
Telenovela and other Mexican tv
Meeting lots of new people
Being spoiled (having someone cook and clean for me!)
Fiestas
The colorful streets
People watching
The sounds (water truck, gas truck, elote man, music, birds, etc)
Hearing English with Spanish accent (sometimes Spanish-British accent)
Food:
Tortillas
Quesillo
Salsa
Aguas de fruta
Nieve
Paletas
Pan dulce
Mango
Pineapple
Tamales
Enfrijoladas
Frappes
Pizza Rustica
Tortas
Arroz con leche
Tres leches cake
Oaxacan chocolate
Gringas
Street food
Mexican Doritos and Cheetos
(Yes, I like food!)


However, I won’t miss the following, although I'm glad they were part of the experience:

Homework, especially diarios
Scary street dogs
Cockroaches, mosquitoes, and rhinoceros beetles
Crazy driving and lack of seatbelts
Whistles, hisses, and comments in the streets
Trying to sleep at night when it’s still 90 degrees
Creepy men
Lack of change and not having separate checks
Lack of water
Movistar
Continual dirty feet

Well, I'd better go enjoy Oaxaca while I still can! See
ChiapasChiapasChiapas

Ruinas
you soon!

Besitos,
Janna


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

ChiapasChiapas
Chiapas

Ruinas
ChiapasChiapas
Chiapas

Monkey!
ChiapasChiapas
Chiapas

Boat ride back
ChiapasChiapas
Chiapas

mayan paintings at Bonampak
ChiapasChiapas
Chiapas

The view at Bonampak
ChiapasChiapas
Chiapas

The view at Bonampak
ChiapasChiapas
Chiapas

Mayan sacrifice
A Day in the Life...A Day in the Life...
A Day in the Life...

The fam! (Left from top: Chris (Daniela's boyfriend), Carlos (host dad), Diego (the grandson), Miguel (Marita's boyfriend), me, Daniela (host sister from Veracruz), Maria Antonieta (host mom), Marita (host sis from Puebla). The sisters were here a couple weeks ago for their cousin's wedding.
A Day in the Life...A Day in the Life...
A Day in the Life...

I love my bed! It's nice and big and comfy. The bedding changes every few weeks...
A Day in the Life...A Day in the Life...
A Day in the Life...

My dresser and chairs
A Day in the Life...A Day in the Life...
A Day in the Life...

Looking out of my room
A Day in the Life...A Day in the Life...
A Day in the Life...

The cats like to lay on my stuff
A Day in the Life...A Day in the Life...
A Day in the Life...

A family room area outside my room...that's where I usually watch tv
A Day in the Life...A Day in the Life...
A Day in the Life...

Walking down the stairs (yep, my family is Catholic)


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb