from Maui to Mexico


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca » Monte Albon
May 21st 2006
Published: May 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Off to Oaxaca. Nervous and excited simultaneously. Overpacked. Totally excited about being immersed in another culture, another language, another way of expecting life to be while at the same time trying to bring everything I'm used to with me: my blowdryer, jeans, makeup, candy (skittles). I've even considered packing my blanket because it's the perfet blanket. I catch myself just in time. How can I be so excited to go somewhere different while not wanting to be without what I'm used to wanting and having? Habits. Conditioning. Part of me wants to get beyond my comfortable habits and really dive in to life and another part justs really wants to be really comfortable.
I'm off to study Spanish at the Instituto Cultural de Oaxaca in Mexico. Soy una estudiante de espanol por un ano y voy a apprender mucho.

Advertisement



4th June 2006

Excited about your blog
Aloha, Su cuadro en el blog es teriffic. Lectura gozada sobre Maui a México en el blog. While at Neiman Marcus, we found a delicious Oaxaca Bar of 75% cacao and including Oaxacan guajillo y pasilla chilles and Tanzanie bittersweet chocolate. We bought one for you. Look forward to seeing you and all your pictures and hearing about your adventures. We guestimate that the 1GB card in the camera will hold about 400 pictures. Are you close to that? Have fun. Love Mom and Dad (penny & aurora)

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb