Down to the Beach at last.


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Mazunte
April 22nd 2006
Published: April 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

RelaxingRelaxingRelaxing

Our modest cabaƱa. Hold on, is that Sean Connery? Yep, he came complimentary with the hammock.
On sunday, we caught a mini bus (very similar to the A-Team van ) and had the scariest roller coaster ride of our lives for 5 hours through the mountains down to the beach. When I had my eyes closed ( which was most of the journey) I was convinced it was B.A. himself driving but, every so often, when I could bare to open my eyes without wanting to vomit, I would catch a glimpse of this wee manic mexican man singing and crossing himself everytime he over took another vehicle. The alternative was a 12 hour first class bus journey that doesn't use the same route - which, in hindsight... well I like to think I would have still gone the A Team route, I secretly enjoyed being a soldier of fortune and on the run from captian Decker , don't think Alex did.

We had 3 nights at Mazunte, a little beach town on the pacific coast, which was paradise. we went snorkelling, swam with tortoises (or turtles, i'm not sure) in the middle of the pacific, drank pina colada / beer on the beach and read books in hammocks. Superb. Last night we caught a night bus to San Cristobal de la Casas. We had read in the Lonley Planet that the night buses in the Chiapas State were notorious for being held up by bandits who come on the buses and rob everyone. However I assured Alex if such an unlikely event was to occur I would defuse the situation by communicating with them using my well developed Spanish / sign language. The plan was I would lull them into a false sense of security and then hit them with some fast talking - If I conversed quickly enough my arm movements might look like some new form of kung fu and it would scare them off. Luckily...for the bandits they didn't show.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Swimming with tortugasSwimming with tortugas
Swimming with tortugas

He tried to drown Kev, that cheeky bugger


24th April 2006

sounds great guys. i'm so jelous. maybe we'll see you on the return trip? kepp up the good work
25th April 2006

Awesome
Onya Kevvie - you tell those turtles how it is :) Looking forward to the next exciting episode, J.
26th April 2006

Bonza
G'day mates... oh who and I kidding? I can't keep up this antipodean pretence. Hello. Sounds like you are having a mental time - really seeing the world - fair fucks to you. Can't wait to see you when you get across to this side of the world. Cheers!
8th May 2006

Helloo!
Yay! You have a blog too! Cool photos! Glad you are having an ace time. Guadalajara is nice and but the teaching is really hard work! Enjoying it though. Think I will be heading down to the Oaxaca coast with Mary its looks lovely. Stay in touch. Charlotte xx

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb