¡Aquí estoy!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Nuevo Leon » Monterrey
July 21st 2006
Published: August 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mountains later in the dayMountains later in the dayMountains later in the day

Once the clouds from this morning cleared, you can definitely see the mountains a LOT better... SO BEAUTIFUL!
Quick update, solamente to post some quick pics and jot down some thoughts.

Arrived at the airport around 7am for a 9am flight which didn't leave until, oh, 1:45pm. Missed the second flight from Dallas to Monterrey but luckily got on a later flight. Arrived in Monterrey, Mexico around 8pm. Long, long day.

The airport is about a half hour drive from the campus (and the hotel), and in order to get here you drive through some interesting parts of the outskirts of town. I would have taken pictures, but i didn't want to seem like the typical gringa pointing her camera all over the place the second she gets off the plane. Anyway, there were some very new subdivision-type parts of town, and shortly down the road tiny houses very very close together, broken windows, etc... You really see the clash between wealth and lack thereof... but the people looked happy. A lot of people outside, enjoying the company of others, sitting in sort of "open air" living rooms, kids playing, people talking. Very, very different than what I'm used to seeing... neighbors actually talking to each other.

My parents are with me for a week-- I
Hotel 1Hotel 1Hotel 1

Hotel courtyard
told them they should take a vacation. So they're enjoying the hotel and the city while I'm searching from my escritorio muy official (very official desk) in the hotel room for apartments close to the Tec.

Luckily my new amigo internacional, Jorge, is going to pick me up tomorrow morning and take me to look at some apartments. I think I found one I really really may like-- con una estudiante de masters-- only $2000 pesos a month (that's about $200) and everything included. The problem is that she is not going to be there tomorrow, so let's keep our collective fingers crossed that she gets back to me today and I can take a look at the apartment tonight.

The pictures are of the courtyard of the hotel and also the view out the window. Mountains surround Monterrey. I've really excited to look out my window everyday and see mountains!

Una cosa mas: Monterrey is very very modern... so in my pictures you'll for sure see places like "Office Max." They have McDonalds, Applebee's, Chili's, Home Depot, Subway, etc. Even a Hooters. Be not surprised. In order to get more of a taste of the
Hotel 2Hotel 2Hotel 2

Hotel courtyard
real Mexicano culture, I plan on taking some trips to other parts of Mexico. I'm also looking forward to assimilating more once I get an apartment and start speaking Spanish everyday-- blending in some more.

Alright, I should get back to the apartment search. Hope all is well with you all. ¡Besos y abrazos!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Hotel 3Hotel 3
Hotel 3

Hotel courtyard
Hotel 4Hotel 4
Hotel 4

Hotel courtyard
The ViewThe View
The View

This is what it looks like out the window. I have MOUNTAINS!!!
The View 1The View 1
The View 1

Out the window
The View 2The View 2
The View 2

Out the window
The View 3The View 3
The View 3

Out the window
The View 4The View 4
The View 4

Out the window
Mountains 2Mountains 2
Mountains 2

And another...


21st July 2006

Cool!
Hey girl! Sounds like a great place! I hope your apartment search goes well and I hope you have a great time! :-) Make sure you keep us up to date!!!
21st July 2006

Wow!!
I'm happy you arrived safely and it sounds like you are going to have a great time. Keep me posted on your events, I like to live vicariously. I hope you get that apartment. Be careful and Love you much!!!!
22nd July 2006

Beautiful!
The pictures are gorgeous! It's so green and picturesque! I love it and I've never even been there!
22nd July 2006

Sounds like all is going well. That's good to hear -- it seems you will really have a good time. I envy you -- but only in so far as the fact that you are in another country -- I feel terribly impolite when I can't communicate with people in their language. Mazel tov.
22nd July 2006

Hola!!
Oh Kathleen the pictures are amazing. I am sure you will get the apartment. Have a blast with Jorge!! I miss you!!
23rd July 2006

TOO!
Hey! Made it to Texas (see live journal for recount of my own personal hell.) and am glad to see you have thus far survived as well. LOVE the view of the mountains. (Oh, and did you play "big city?" 'cause I sure did.

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb