Una Dia en Casa Hogar


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Nayarit » Bucerias
August 6th 2009
Published: August 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The days here in Bucerias have become very very repetitive and so I was very happy to be invited to help paint a children's home in Bucerias. Some call it an orphanage, but all of the kids there have families, the families just can't afford to house them.

Sue, a woman we have befriended, picked me up very early in the morning so we could get to work before the sun got too intense. We drove for a bit and then turned away from the ocean and headed into farmland. I hadn't realized how far off the highway the houses went! We finally made it to a large, newly constructed building that was partially painted white. The kids were running around and playing as walked inside and gathered painting materials.

I met the other volunteers, Harold, Sue's husband, and Larry, another retiree. The guys went up to the roof to start on the second story while Sue and I worked on the details around the windows and around the exposed brick.

After several hours of painting, we started to wrap it up. I began to play with the kids in the main courtyard. They were thrilled when I pulled out my camera. Each child got a chance to take a few pictures with it. One boy in a wheel chair seemed quite fond of me. He would run into my leg, smile and try to show me the bracelet on his ankle. He seemed to use his feet as his hands and he laughed really loud when I would tickle them.

By this time, the sun was really beating down on us so we called it a day. I said good-bye to all the children and looked forward to jumping into our pool when I got home. It was a very good day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb