Doctor's Visit


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Cuernavaca
July 21st 2010
Published: July 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

The Doctor's Visit:
On Monday I started to develop a problem in my right ear. It felt like it had water in it, but it didn't. It was the kind of thing that I hoped was minor and would go away on its own. Tuesday I felt very dizzy (dizzier than normal that is) when I got out of bed or stood up from sitting. I also felt slightly nauseated. By the time Wednesday came I realized I had to see a doctor.

The nice thing here is, and maybe it just applies to our school, is the doctor actually made a visit to the school. I can't think of the last time I heard of a "house call" happening in the U.S. And the real surprise is that it only cost me 450 pesos, which is less than $45 U.S. WOW! (I hope it's covered by BlueCross). And the four medicines I had to take, I got for less than $80 U.S. One of the Mexican teachers gave me her union prescription discount card, and they only get a 5% discount. Not much compared to ours. Of course, even these low prices are out of reach for most Mexicans. Many rely on traditional medicines. A lecture on indigenous medicine comes up next week.

After the doctor left, I walked over a few blocks to the pharmacy to get my meds. Since the doctor had left, one of the medications, which was a shot (yeah, a needle... in the butt), had to be given to me by my Spanish language teacher. Apparently, she has some medical experience. Didn't feel a thing. I'd highly recommend her. Hopefully, I'll feel better in a few days. (sorry, no photo of me getting the shot)

Advertisement



23rd July 2010

Doctor's visit
You're lucky someone is there to give you a painless needle.Enjoy your summer!
23rd July 2010

Dear Paul, I hope you are quick your usual self again. With kindest regards, Wim

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb