Now Playing: Fiesta Palos Rumberos


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Cuernavaca
June 29th 2010
Published: June 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Another day of salsa class and 2 for 1 pizzas down. I actually did awesome today, i turned just fine! I think it was because he didn´t show us again in detail how to turn, so i just turned like i used to with my friends back home, and it worked. There were more people this time, last time it was just us 3 girls so he had to dance with each of us 1 turn at a time lol but this time the place was packed.

My classes are going ok. I just keep thinking "you are only here for 2.5 more weeks, you can do this!!!" lol because buisness is such a boring subject, and i don´t even understand the world of finance in english so how am i supposed to understand it in my second language!!! lol and poetry translation is difficult because of my directors hinderance in the english language. she basically has her notes in english, and she believes that that is all there is when it dosen´t make sense. so we have to explain to her in spanish why that doesn´t apply in english, and its difficult trying to deffend your first language. i´ll admit i sound stupid sometimes lol because i don´t even understand how english works most of the time, so i suggest something, and everyone else is like, "¿huh?" lol.

my excursions this past weekend were fun. saturday we went to the caverns, and it was a completely new experiance for me because i haven´t even been to the Laret caverns in Virginia and i´ve lived there almost all my life. it was cool, we had a tour guide who showed us with a flashlight some of the shapes that the rocks made. there was a bald eagle, abraham lincoln, a Buddah, a polar bear, stuff like that.

After that, we went to Taxco, which used to be a silver mining city. its situated on a mountain, and reminded one of my friends of Greece. THEY HAD A STATUE OF CHRIST THE REDEAMER!!! i wanted to go up to it and take a picture with Him so bad, but it was at the very top of the mountain and none of my friends wanted to attempt the treck with me 😞 but i´m hopeful that i will see the REAL statue in Brazil when i go to the olympics in 2016. Instead we hicked halfway up the mountain to see the Santa Prisca Cathedral which was BEAUTIFUL!!! we got our own english speaking tour, it was cool.

Sunday was great with the exception of Mexico getting spanked by Argentina. First we went to Mexico city to watch the Mexican ballet at the national anthropology museum which was A-mazing. I got some video, and soooommmme pictures. i couldn´t use flash, and because of all the movement, i didn´t get that many good shots, but still.

Afterwards, we went to Teotihuacán to see the pyramids!!!! Please believe i climbed the pyramid of the sun (which is the 3rd largest pyramid in the WORLD) and the moon.... i was so excited! Please believe it was a little bit of a struggle getting up the pyramid of the sun with its 287 steps, but i got it done in less than 8 minutes. Even my director Muñoz did it, and she said it was the first time in 9 years that shes gotten all the way to the top I WAS SO PROUD OF HER!!! Shes pushing her late 50s i have to say, but my Colombianita did it! Our tour guide was so cool, and i think he speaks better English than Muñoz does :/ lol.

But yeah, had my classes yesterday, and here i am today! Still not sick! Tomorrow i´m going to a Thai restaurant with some friends before I go see Toy Story in 3D AND spanish 😊 my first movie, i´m excited. Thursday i don´t plan on doing anything but salsa class, the homework i don´t finish today or tomorrow, and packing for ACAPULCO 😊 a weekend in a 5 stars hotel with a private beach is going to be AwEsOmE. i can´t wait to sleep in, its going to be great because i haven´t slept in since i´ve been here 😞 i´m dying.

As for the world cup, i wanted to cry when Mexico lost. And when i asked Mamá what happens next she said, "Now they´re coming home. Nothing more." I wanted them to win so bad, i guess because i was here, but still. After watching other games, I would really like Spain to win it. David Villa is a great player, and Spain has yet to win a world cup, and hasen´t placed in a tournament since 1950, so i think if they want it bad enough then they can take it. But if they fall to saturday to Paraguay (which they shouldn´t) then i´m going for Brazil. Brazil wins, and i´ve been backing them since the start because of it lol.

LOVVVVVE YOUUUUU!

Advertisement



30th June 2010

steps
287 steps! Sounds like my walk down the escalator at the Dupont Circle Metro LOL. But you were going UP, which I could have never done! Please believe me. Post some more pictures when you can. Love you!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb