Las Estacas - ¨They filmed the old Tarzan movies here!¨


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Cuernavaca
July 29th 2008
Published: July 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I missed out on going to Las Estacas two times before and I´ve always regretted it because everyone goes on and on about how beautiful it is. We took two small vans on our excursion, just enough room for the fifteen or so people who signed up to go.

Wary of the backseat, I chose to sit in the middle of the van, since last time we rode in one, we got the heck knocked out of our heads as we cruised over a speed bump. At first we all laughed as we held our head, but after a minute or so, after some of us saw blood, we realized we might have slight concussions, or at least short neck syndrome.

This trip would be different though. Las Estacas was not quite as far this time, and there were relatively few speed bumps. The hour long drive from Cuernavaca went quickly and we all were glad for it. At first, I thought I forgot my swimsuit, which would probably have made my time at the water park pretty miserable, but it was buried at the bottom of my back pack.

We walked across a short bridge, and stopped, amazed at being able to see through to the bottom of the river. I don´t think I´ve ever seen water that clear. Plant and fish seemed to be suspended in mid air as they traveled through the water.

After we changed, we found a spot at the bank of the water, and I finally got used to the idea that I was going to have to take off my shirt . .. . not very muscularly predisposed. Flabby stomach syndrome.

I had difficulty believing the water was not somehow chemically enhanced, but our guide informed us (in Spanish) that natural springs pushed through the floor of the river. Coming from below ground though, also gave the water an extra dose of ice-cold currents. The best way, I decided, was to go for it and run and jump in. Exhilarated, I came up for breath and started swimming to warm up. A gentle current carried me towards the rope swing , past trees and vines planted on the banks.

Suzanne, Mateo and I all had a turn at it. I probably should have been a little more aware that everyone else around up lined up to use the swing were pretty much teenagers. But, being young at heart, I was convinced I could do it too. I held the top part of the swing, trying to remember all of the instructions the young guy retrieving the rope had given us. The most important being don´t let go until you advance on the return swing back. As I went over the water, I imagined wiping out on a tree on the opposite side, so I dropped as soon as was at the lowest moment of the arc. Real classy.

The rest of the afternoon was spent looking at fish with the masks we rented, jumping off a huge platform, and having a few refreshments. Even after the refreshments, I managed to find some lady's earring, which had fallen out after she jumped off the platform. It was kind of freaky since there was what I thought was an abyss at the bottom of the area we were jumping off.

To finish off the day, we jumped off one final time and decided to swim back to the main part of the river via a small tributary surrounded by trees, vines and nothing else. I was surprised to see a lifeguard hidden behind the leaves of some huge plant. I decided I would try to throw down a little Spanish, so I got up the nerve to ask the guard a question. ¨So are there any snakes in here?¨I asked, expecting him to be amused at my Spanish, and my question.
Ïn Spanish, he responded, ¨Only at night.¨

I swam a little faster.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb