Food, Rugby, and Kids


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Michoacán » Morelia
April 16th 2008
Published: April 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

CatedralCatedralCatedral

View from Below!
I've been keeping a food diary since Ive been here. My host mother is very healthy- no sugar, salt, little carbs, etc. Its really nice- we've had meat once (well, besides fish).

It turns out, there IS Mexican rugby!!! I went to the FMRU website- the closest team to me are the Guadalajara Rhinos, but there are a ton in Mexico, DF too. I'm emailing the other team to find out when and where they play. This weekend, we're going to go see a Monarch's game (the Morelian futbol team). It should be really fun- they have games every two weeks.

Tomorrow is the orphanage. They don't get any support from the government, and get food donated from local food banks. The teacher here wants to come up with some sort of way to
Catedral 2Catedral 2Catedral 2

View at night!
get them self-sufficient. Some of the kids are in school, but others aren't; some kids have parents, others don't. The last time I went there were only about four young children and five teenagers, but I'm told there are more, either inside or at school. Sometimes the government comes in to investigate, and ends up removing the kids from the orphanage, so they're a little suspicious of outsiders (especially us gringas!). I didn't talk much with the teenagers, so I don't have much information. I mostly played with the kids; they didn't have too many toys, just rusted playsets and random objects, like a coffee can, a wheelbarrow, a rope, and a skinny leather belt. The kids seemed happy and taken care of, if a little attention-starved. Hopefully I will find out more.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Catedral 3Catedral 3
Catedral 3

View from the Rooftop


22nd April 2008

lentil soup with bananas
ThatswhatIwant!

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb