Las Medias Rojas De Boston


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Michoacán » Morelia
July 11th 2007
Published: July 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello out there in blog-land,

Today´s entry includes tales of me being vintage Brett and of course getting myself in trouble by trying to be clever...so here goes.

I´m sitting in Spanish class, which at the moment I do from 9 to 1. Starting tomorrow it will be 5 hours because I decided I needed an extra hour of personal tutoring in order to do some remedial Spanish work. So....I´m sitting in class yesterday and the teacher teaches us the verb ¨to lie.¨ In the previous lesson we´d learned career words, so I decided to put a whole sentence together with the words ¨to lie¨and ¨lawyer¨¨My sentence, using the past tense that we´d learned the previous lesson....went something like this. ¨Los abogados mentaron¨or...¨The lawyers lied.¨Good news, grammatically speaking...nice sentence. Shouldn´t she be happy that I used all the lessons and put together a coherent Spanish thought? Guess not. Bad news, the teacher responded with ¨cuidado brett, mi padre es abogado.¨Translation.¨Careful Brett, my father is a lawyer.¨ Needless to say I didn´t yet have enough Spanish to back my way out of that one.

Later that same class the faux paux continued. We were learning the verb ¨sentir¨or feel in the past tense. Who has a sentence¨?¨ the teacher asked. So, again, mr. enthusiastic student raised his hand. I came up with a sentence about the Boston Red Sox or as I learned in Spanish ¨Las Medias Rojas de Boston.¨ Again, flawless sentence, but a bad reaction. The teacher said that her husband was from ¨nueva york¨and was a big Yankees fan. Another fine academic showing by yours truly.

Moving right along. As far as I can tell, and this is a very unscientific study, there are three types of businesses that are riduculously prevalent here in Morelia. For some reason, there is a disproportionate number of either 1. dentists 2. lawyers 3. shoe stores. Now, perhaps it is hypocritical for a boy from Boston such as myself to judge such things because I´m sure someone blogging about Boston is certainly writing about how there are 3 Dunkin Donuts on every street.

Next, I am always looking for great signs. I think I will never see a better sign than the one yesterday. Mi hermano y yo (my sister and I) were taking a stroll, exploring the city when we happened upon this store. On the roof if said ¨Casa del Banos¨house of bathrooms. The best part, the huge toilet affixed to the building. See picture for details.

Next, yesterday I took a Mexican cooking class. Pictures on this blog will include me making tortillas by hand.

Finally, despite her protests, I promised to have a small part of each entry mentioning (read: perhaps embarassing) to my sister. Last time it was the toilet, this time its the potential mates she may meet at the school. Excited, my sister told me of all these young, available bachelors also studying at the school. ¨Great,¨I said. However, turns out there is only one problem with these men, they are all seminary students studying for the priesthood. My response to my sister, ¨So they´re not preists YET, so go be charming.¨ No word on how that´s going.

Okay, off to take a siesta.

Brett


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



12th July 2007

Question
when you order a #69 in the mexican chinese place- do you get a beef and broccoli burrito?

Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb