Longest Blog Gap in History


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Puerto Vallarta
November 6th 2006
Published: November 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Somos de UNIVASomos de UNIVASomos de UNIVA

My school's name is Univa, and we were on a field trip. See the letters? and the period?
Hi everyone! (as either cheers or sighs ring out around the world at the news that Kristina didn't fall off the side of a cliff to be lost forever)

I realize that I haven't written a blog in a hundred years (that's accurate, if you round up),but here we go to make up for it, random jotted notes:

So a few weeks ago, I had a district breakfast, where all the exchange students were introduced to all the Rotary Members that had chosen to come. We all wore our fancy jackets that are quickly filling up. My favorite thing about mine is the glittery Virgin of Guadalupe patch I bought and sewed to the back. After the breakfast, we went to the house of one of the students for lunch, cascarita- casual soccer, and hang out time. I really do like my exchange friends. I was obviously a little under the weather that day, and one of them said something that was so true:

Here, we're all the family we've all got. You can tell us anything, and we'll listen to anything.

. We definatly all make friends in our own schools and stuff, but exchange friends are different. They understand you the way a non-exchange student can't. But don't get me wrong, I ADORE the friends I've
Smile! ¡Sonreír!Smile! ¡Sonreír!Smile! ¡Sonreír!

Lalo, Jésus, Martha,Diana,Olivia
made in Vallarta. I have some great ones 😊

I am playing fútbol like a little crazy person now, almost 4 days a week. I play with a women's team at my school, and sometimes practice with the guys. Unfourtunatly, Im the only one with team experience, or much fútbol experience at all, so the first game we played, we lost 6-0. But we have fun! And thats all that matters, right 😉

Before I came, I said that I was going to do some good social work, because I definatly am going to have the chance. Turns out, my school is nothing like my old high school, and runs no programs or clubs other than fútbol. However, if you know me, the lack of available programs is not generally an obstacle, so with my friend Olivia, we made one! We are going to collect blankets and winter(ha!) clothes to give out to various organizations around Vallarta. I'm excited. The posters are all made, we're going to start here in about a week. Wish us luck!! Other than that, I got the chance to go to an orphange with my spanish school last week! We all bought candy to give them, and some people bought toys, and I bought cute little girly things. I bought sparkely bobbypins and stick-on nails, because who doesnt like to get glam? Little girls certainly do. I wanted to buy little dinky cars (remember those?? hot wheels?) for the boys but I couldnt find any, I was a little disappointed. Anyway, we went for the whole afternoon, and it was great. The kids were so cute, and chowed down on the candy. We also got to see all the little babies. They were so cute, and omg, I just wanted to keep them. But 'babies don't make good souvenirs'

I find living in a place like Vallarta, I see a real contrast between people, and cultures. Because it's such a tourist place, Can-erican culture is right next to Mex culture, and it has so many evidant differences. The other day, walking down the exact same street was a prime example. I saw this family, and the mom and dad were fighting, yelling at each other, the kids were running around crazy, it was choas in 'paradise'. Then down the street I saw this Mexican man trying to teach his son how to
Las chicasLas chicasLas chicas

Diana, Me, Olivia, Martita
ride a tricycle. The whole family was there watching, clapping. Now I KNOW all cultures have their goods and bads, and families of all types, it was just an amazing contrast of typical examples of families. One all disorganized, and exemplafying the 'disfunction' americans are trying to fix with their tv shows, and one all together, and close. Just makes you think...

The other day was halloween, hope you all had a good/FREAKY one. hee hee. I went to a halloween party with my exchange friends, as I was in Guadalajara. Good times there, dressed up as a Mafia Girl, (see awesome pics haha).

Halloween is basically just a reason to party here, because its the Día de Muertos thats a big deal. Nov 1st, is all saints day, and all the day to honor the spirits of dead children. The second is the big one, the real deal. People have made altars, using white table clothes, covered with purple and orange decorations, orange flowers (quite possibly a marigold, cant quite identify it.), food, water, pictures, gifts, and candy skulls. Its a very healty attitude towards death if you ask me. Everyone is really happy, and thinking of their families, and good memories. The kids sing songs, write poems, eat candy shaped like skulls, it's all very bright and happy. They also make the best bread! It's called pan muerto, dead bread literally haha. It has a vanilla-y taste, and is covered in sugar. And the top has a big dot of bread, surrounded by little lines of bread. The big dot is like the skull, and the little lines all aroud are the limbs. Sounds kind of freaky, but when you eat the bread, it doesn't matter, SO good. For DdM, I was in Tequila, with my exchange friend from Brazil, Ana. Tequila is a pretty small town, a pueblito (poo-ebb-LEE-toe), very traditionally mexican. And in the square, there was a altar contest, and a little theatre piece, and music all night. It was so nice. I love Día de Muertos!

While I was visiting Tequila, I also did a tour of the Jose Cuervo factory. I now know how to LOOK like I know the diferences between tequilas. haha. It was a good tour, had some good tequila (don't worry, just a little bit, to taste, they give you like, 1/4th of shot of it
Hey, I see Cancun!Hey, I see Cancun!Hey, I see Cancun!

This is basically the best idea I have ever seen. Giant map where the Cruise ships let people off! neato!
to try.)

I've been having some cute tourist days lately. Those 2 days in Tequila, then when I was coming home, (Ana came with me) we stopped in Talpa, to the the church where the Virgin appeared in 1692. That was actually really amazing, because upstairs, there are rooms and rooms full of Thank You letters, drawings, art pieces, gifts and the like, as thank yous for the Miracles the Virgin of Talpa has bestowed upon people. There are some really amazing things. One car went flying of a cliff and everyone was ok, there were kids with Leukemia that are healthy now, there were people with all kinds of prayers, all just saying thank you. The other tourist days have been here in Vallarta. Like I said, Ana came with me, and she's never been to Vallarta. So we arrived back here at about 6ish on saturday night, so I called my friends, and we went dancing at Señor Frogs. The next morning, we woke up at about 8:30 to start the day. We went walking on the malécon, the whole thing(kind of long really), then went swimming at the beach, then went to eat tacos(mm mm good),
Refugio Infantil Santa EsperanzaRefugio Infantil Santa EsperanzaRefugio Infantil Santa Esperanza

All the kids and the spanish school folks. ((Santa Esperanza = the saint of hope))
then went home to have a nap because oh my goodness were we tired. Traveling the 5 hours not counting stops, from GDL to PV, plus a night of dancing, plus a whole day in the sun can really get to a girl .haha. But since she's only here until Tuesday morning, we have to make the most of it. So after our little siesta, we went out to Carlos O'brians, and again, were the biggest tourists ever. We took pictures with EVERYTHING. All the photos on the wall, the stuff in the bathroom, the chairs. It's all good. (and I'll add the pictures later, I just dont have them on the computer yet).

And well, that was an obscenely long blog. I just always have so much to write. But always, as I have very little time, I dont get around to writing much. So anyway, heres me sending you sun telepathecly. 😊

(PS, in case anyones counting, today is 3 months in México!)






Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Little girls love their nailsLittle girls love their nails
Little girls love their nails

I bought a few packages of nail stickers, BIG HIT with the chicitas!
Jump ropes, balls, and candyJump ropes, balls, and candy
Jump ropes, balls, and candy

What more could a little kid want?
Kristy Kristy
Kristy

rule #1- You are only allowed to call me that if your mexican.
the crazy hat clanthe crazy hat clan
the crazy hat clan

Jésus, Lalo, Martha, Olivia
Un altarUn altar
Un altar

Día de muertos tradition. The altar is a way to call the dead to earth on November 2nd. You leave water, food, flowers, toys if the dead is a child, a picture of who your honoring, sometimes a mirror and comb if its an adult, and anything those you are honoring liked in their life...
Un cruzUn cruz
Un cruz

First it's a cross of ashes to symbolize the dead, then a cross of salt to signify the tears of the living, then a cross of the flowers that bring the dead to your altar
water to wet the lips...water to wet the lips...
water to wet the lips...

Water (mixed with the juice of whatever fruit you want) is left, because visiting from the dead is a long journey!! They're going to be parched
This is the entire school, 1-6This is the entire school, 1-6
This is the entire school, 1-6

There is honestly only 25 odd kids in 6 grades. Crazy


6th November 2006

babies dont make good souveniers!
Remember that about the babies! And Kristina, seriously, only you would set up a social program in your school to help the needy. Really, I cant think of anyone else. Well, even though you dont need it, good luck!
6th November 2006

three months? only three months? thats crazy! seems longer
7th November 2006

I have
only one thing that you don't right now - SNOW LOTS AND LOTS OF SNOW. bet you're jealous right? HAHA I know I know - As if! Good to know you're still rockin' Mex. Love love!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb