Worth every peso...


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Puerto Vallarta
March 8th 2007
Published: March 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Los ArcosLos ArcosLos Arcos

This is where I went snorkeling!
Q: What has Kristina been doing?

A:What HASN'T Kristina been doing!

Last Sunday (Feb 25) , I met a friend from school at the Rodeo stadium, and we went to the National Championship of the Mexican Rodeo! We went on the final day so we saw the final 3 teams compete for 1st Prize.

Actually, first let me explain how this all works :
The Charreada is the national sport of Mexico. A charro is a Mexican cowboy, complete with sombrero chaps, a nice scarfy-tie, and of course some good solid boots. In the final there were 3 teams of about 6 or 7 charros that completed a series of events, gaining points for their team, to be totaled at the end to see who wins! Apparently Jalisco (the state where I live) has the most charros out of all of Mexico and has won more national championships than any other. I live in the best state, I swear, we have the best/biggest/most of everything it seems! Ha ha ha!

So after the qualifying rounds were over, and 3 finalist teams were chosen, there was a short break, and we bought some elote (ay-low-tay) - corn on the cob, and waited for the finals to start after a little intermission. The whole thing starts with a presentation of the teams, each one in a line, trotting in on their horses to the live band playing 'The Zacatecas March'. Then there the events start. I was going to explain them, but there are SO many, and this is going to be the never ending blog, sooo.... I'll just tell you the coolest one:

-'The Jump of Death'. That's seriously what it's called!! 4 charros run on their horses, keeping a wild horse pegged, running against the wall. Then, the charro in front JUMPS from his horse to the wild horse and has to see how far he can go! The danger here is rather obvious, you know, jumping from one running horse to one that doesn't even usually have riders isn't the best idea. If the charro were to fall, he would be trampeled by his team mates, because they are running behind him and the horses. Some teams even do this event with the jumper facing backwards! That's a sight to see....

So that was Sunday. Monday was school, everything normal there. Starting watching Apoctalypitca
Lore and ILore and ILore and I

This is the only pic I have from Friday. Martha hasn't sent me the pics from the day yet... sooooon.
(Mel Gibson movie). Interesting to watch with Mexicans to watch with mexicans because it is about their history. They kind of laugh at it because of how much stuff he tried to put into one movie. The joke is, "All it needs is Porfirio Diaz" (He a legendary president of Mexico, who was in power for 31 years) because apparently Mel Gibson tried to put all sorts of stuff together that didn't belong.

Tuesday I went to the Roteract meeting. There was a presentation about an education program for women in marginalized sections of town. This organization gives classes in English, computers, sewing, massage, and small business management so they can apply their new knowledge.

Wednesday I went to my Rotary breakfast. Got all signed up for the conference in May! It is going to be amazing! It's a conference for the whole district, and they are all coming here to Vallarta. That 'all' includes all my exchange friends! It will be the last

Thursday a Rotary club from California came in on the cruise ship. My host mom and I met them and my Rotary Club president at the Refugio de Santa Esperanza, the orphange I went to before. We spent the day there, and this time I actually made a few mini friends because my spanish was better. The club were all seniors, and basically were just there to give a check, which is good too. Either way, I spent the morning with the kids and that was awesome, as always.

Friday was basically the best day EVER. Other than the Rotary trips this was basically THE best day of my whole exchange. We went to the marina from school, at about 8:30. At 9, my class and I left in the tour boat with the rest of the lucky crowd. About 15-20 minutes out on the goooooorgeous azul ocean, all shimmery with the bright bright sun, we saw a little circle of ships. As this is whale season, not too much guess work about what's going on there. 4 humpback whales, one baby... they were incredible. Awesome in the sense of awe inspiring. HUGE obviously. And they did the cool jumping out of the water thing a few times, so thats always cool. After the whales left we went on to Los Arcos, where we got to go SNORKELING. Now, I was only
The teacher that came withThe teacher that came withThe teacher that came with

This is my administration teacher...
expecting whale watching that day, so being able to go snorkeling (built into the price!) in Los Arcos, what I have wanted to do since I saw them, made me soooo happy! We saw all sorts of fish and coral and even a manta ray! I saw dory-fish too, haha. "hello my sistas!" Back on the boat, on to Las Animas beach, where more than half the boat(including basically all my friends. haha) got off to just go swimming and hang out on the boat. The rest of us, Juan Carlos, Shere and I included, went on to Quimixto. THERE we got to go horseback riding for about 20 mins to a waterfall. Juan Carlos and I jumped in from a big ol' rock (4-5 meters) , the way you're SUPPOSED to get into water. haha. The water was nice and FREEZING because it was a river, and even the ocean is cold right now. I love jumping off rocks... Time to go back, back on the horses. Back to Las Animas beach for some lunch, and to get beat up by mad waves. Then back to the marina with everyone. And it was just SUCH a fantabulous day, that we didn't want it to end, so even though we had been on the ocean for almost 10 hours, we headed on over to the beach to end the day with the most gorgeous sunset ever. It was a perfect moment. Everyone all meshed together, laying in the sand watching the sun spread the oranges and yellows and red all over the ocean... so yah, i love my life in case you didn't catch that...

Saturday and Sunday were just lazy days. Went and saw my friend dance in the square, hung out at a friend's house ... nice and relaxing.

This blog was supposed to only be about last week, but I just take so long to write it all, it just keeps going! And unfourtunatly for those of you who actually read this, mildly interesting things have gone on bascailly everyday!

Monday I had soccer and you won't even beleive it but : WE WON!!!!!! First game all year that we have won. 4-3 and I got 3 of the goals!! Two penalties and 1 normal. Fab, no? I broke in my new cleats...

Tuesday I went to my old host family's house for
The Norweigan StarThe Norweigan StarThe Norweigan Star

The cruise ship in the marina
lunch. Lupita made me enchiladas, triple yum (double yum just isn't expressive enough). At my new house we don't eat a lot of the traditional mexican food. Good for the pants, sad for the belly, haha. It was really nice to visit with them again, I hadn't seen them in almost a month! They let me take a nap in my old bed, because I was really tired after school ( I get up at 5:30 for school), and all the good food. So I took a siesta, for TWO hours. oie.... good thing I didn't take the bus right after we were done, I would have missed my stop for sure! Also, Tuesday marked the official 7th month of Kristina being in love with Mexico!

And here we are, Wednesday. Rotary meeting, and errand day for me. Didn't go to school because I decided I had to catch up on my random things I had to do, and I did! good for me! I love catch up days. I also had soccer practice. I also love exercise!

So as you can see, I have been smiling basically none stop for a long while... my cheeks are starting
Even the boat was smilingEven the boat was smilingEven the boat was smiling

Does this remind anyone of the smiling boat in Spain? ** that fateful day.. Sorry Beth...
to hurt. haha

Hope you have all been happy and healthy too!!

LOVE LOVE LOVE

00
DAYS 
00
HOURS 
00
MINS 
00
SECS

Until Kristina Gets Home












Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Kristina's in Mexico!Kristina's in Mexico!
Kristina's in Mexico!

In case you didn't know...
WhalesWhales
Whales

well, their backs at least
Jorge & Luis CarlosJorge & Luis Carlos
Jorge & Luis Carlos

Snorkle time!
Nancy & INancy & I
Nancy & I

I uber-loved snorkeling!!
I love my friends :) I love my friends :)
I love my friends :)

Jesus, Martita, Luis Carlos, Diana, Me, Nancy and Juan Carlos...


8th March 2007

Dont Stop!!
All Im saying is hey to my adorable little mexican! dont stop smiling!!
11th March 2007

KRISTINA MY LOVE!
Kristina!! Mexico loves you too I am sure...sounds like you are having the best time possible! I am sooo happy for you, my mexicana montserrat says... me encanta la manera en la ue disfrutas mexico ... que bueno que ames mi mundo como yo l amo , esta hermoso verdad?? deberias de escribirme y contarme que pienss de la ente mexicana , yo he aprendido demasiado de canada... muchisima suerte que estes de lo mejor en MEXICO.. tengo que ir a puerto vallarta jamas en i vida he estado ahi ... un besoooo cant wait to see you in july...so many stories!

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb