Cant believe another month has gone by!!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Cuidad Guzman
November 7th 2007
Published: November 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Firstly I think an apology is in order due to my late blogging. Its NOT that I don't like anyone anymore (DAVE!!) its just that I've been very busy enjoying Mexico and making friends for life here! I honestly cannot belive that I have been here for two months now, the time really has flown. On the other hand I feel extremely at home here now and part of everyday life for not only the chidlren but my students and collegues at the tec and my friends. My dail7y routine during hte week has been exactly the same as in my last blog, its the added extras after hours that are the interesting bits and what I'm going to fill you in on now.

I did however take 2 consecutive Thursdays off to attend the Toro De Once's. The Toro de Once was originally a Bull fight on the 10th of October (rather like our traditional Boxing Day football match) but now its morphed into an excuse for the universities to throw big parties at the bull ring which start at 11 oclock in the morning and go on till around 8 in the evening. There are traditional elements of the day though, after the grand convoy of trucks and cars decorated as bulls and other things and drinking agua loca (coco water with tequila) you arrive at the bull ring, the party starts with a horse show and then the Banda music starts. Banda is a traditional Mexican music and a closest comparison would be country music. I am NOT a fan...especially dancing to it. But i had a good day drinking with my friends and attempting to dance to Banda. As you can imagine this got more amusing as the day wore on!!

The fair was in Ciudad Guzman for the whole of October, so many a saturday night was spent drinking in the Callejon (the name of the area of bars in the Fair) and after one Toro de Once aswell. I also accompanied all of the children to the games one evening after school...which was both enjoyable and a complete nightmare at the same time. Did mean that I got to go on alot of the rides for free though, but the carousel is just as boring even when you dont pay.

Sundays are family days, and as I don't have my family here 😞 and there are not many children at the house on Sundays, I usually spend SUndays with a friend. Thankfully I've now been adopted by 2 Mexican familes :D who look after me one Sundays. One Sunday I went to Guadalajara with my friends Claudia for her Uncles 30th Wedding anniversary which was nice. Her family was crazy, I especially enjoyed the Kareoke at the end of the night. Other Sundays I have spent the day on Marijo's ranch with her family being well fed and watered. Families are alot closer here and tend to see the whole family atleast one a week, if not they most probably live next door to eachother.

After the fair finished weekends in Ciudad Guzman are pretty uneventful. Went to a party one saturday but it was extremely dull. To compensate for this, we all went away to a near by town called Mazamitla for a friends birthday. Mazamitla is a town near a forest up in the mountains of Mexico and is over 2000metres above sea level (skiing hight but unfortunatly no skiing here!!). 8 of us stayed in a nice 'Campana' (Cabin) and we had plenty of space for around 15pounds each. We arrived on Friday and went to the Disco in the evening. On saturday monring after some tacos in the centre we rented some horses and wen horseriding up to a waterfall where we rested in the glorious sunshine before returning home and getting ready to go out again. On Sunday we decided we wanted a bit more speed so decided to rent quad bikes. Horses were a better idea. I had an amazing time on the quadbikes zooming around the forest until i returned and waiting outside the shop for my friends, I saw them walking down the street with the seat of a quadbike in their hand. Luckily not much harm done as they fell off the bike before it did a triple flip down into a ditch. Mainly just bumped and bruised and half a tooth missing here and some skin missing there.....just waiting for the bill of the quad bike now tho :S.

Think thats all my news other than to let you all know how happy I am here and I really really want to come back during my third year at university. I really have made friends for life and am getting on well in the home too....cant imagine leaving it all behind in february!!!


Advertisement



31st December 2007

What no blogs!
As the year comes to an end I am sure some people would like to know that you didnt disappear of the planet at some stage after the 777th November!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb