Water: a luxury for the gifted


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Hidalgo » Pachuca
September 19th 2006
Published: September 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Oh man, the sound of pipes clanking is amazing. Espically when there is no water in them. Apparently water, I mean running, water that comes out of your faucet is a luxury that you get even if you have indoor plumbing and the ability to have running water. Having a constant supply of running water is something that I have learned to value. Let's put it this way, when you can't use your toilet, it's an amazing thing what you can do. Haha.
So, moving on, we have had runnin water now, for almost one day since the last failure. YESS! I don't want to give the impression that this happens all the time, but, it does happen. Quite the interesting expereince. I am really going to move on from this now. School is going well. I am ejoying the whole "teaching" thing. I mean, kids are kids, are kids. I have learned so much about myself. I can honestly say, that this is one of the best experiences I have ever done. I know that I would want to teach. Teaching is something that I imagine myself doing for sure. However, I also know that I don't want to teach high school otra vez. I mean, I really like the kids, but I also think that I would rather teach at an institution where I know that the kids really want to be there, and are not just there because they have to be. This school is really interesting. It is a group of students who really have been kicked out of many of the other schools around Pachuca, and this is really their last chacne to get a "degree". I mean they have me....me teaching Ethics and Values. Watch out Mexico, I am going to unleash fury upon you! Haha. That's not entirely true. Which means that it is kinda true.
Pachuca is crazy, last Friday was el día de independencia, we (a group of my friends from school and Josh) went to la plaza Juárez for el grito. The plaza was packed to the gills with people, food, and the like. We heard el grito, and then partied harty. Tequila, cerveca, and tacos de pastor. MMMMM, the makings of a gooooood night. It was kind of a night of blurrrrrrr.....but blur in a way that makes for good times. I will have some pics of my apartment and pachuca and that kind of stuff posted soon, but not yet....can't....havn't had time for the files. Anyway, I will post more later, just know that Mexico rocks, and teaching is pretty cool. Be good humans

Advertisement



20th September 2006

Sounds good!
Glad you are having a good time! This blog site is very cool! Good Job! The family says hi and we all miss you! Hope the water lasts!! -Stefan
20th September 2006

Agua y fiestas
Hey Z~ sounds like you are making some very important decisions! I only hope they are not made under the influence of tequilla! I'm so happy that you are happy! Keep up the great work. Sending you lots of love! Mom
20th September 2006

you suck balls
i miss you terribly. but im glad youre having a good time and learning while you teach. its cool how that works out. and im coming to visit you. im just going to walk in on your class room one day and talk to your students. im gonna say "hola muchachos. sr. lefitz es muy joto, no? el no quieres cojer con chicas. es muy triste porque el es muy guapo. es mi mala suerte." its gonna be sweet!
20th September 2006

yes
there is no such thing as a 'bad blur' when tacos are involved
22nd September 2006

I'm with you on this water thing...
If it makes you feel any better...I went two days sans running water here, and then spent the following day electricity-less...so, I'm right there with you with sympathy pains...but I guess we now have a green-friendly solar water heater here now...
30th September 2006

.eeeewwwwwwww
A little icky hearing about the water thing - eeeeeeeewwwww. anyway, sounds like this may just be a life-defining time for you. Be well. Yes, kids are kids are kids (so are grownups!!) Love you. K

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0765s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb