Getting around


Advertisement
Published: April 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hola All,
For me to get out of my daily routine has been a wonderful experience. It really makes you pay attention to every detail when every street is new and every chance meeting an opportunity for a new friend. Finding a favorite bakery and restaurant was a lot of hard work but I persevered! I love La Grotta a lovely little Italian restaurant that plays live Jazz. It has the best pizza I’ve ever tasted. Gerard the owner makes a wonderful cheese cake too. He can speak very good English and often has a story to share with me. His wife owns a clothes boutique and they both teach the Tango on Friday night. I´ve also gone over the moon for the Mexican hot chocolate & fresh baked churros at a wonderful little café. The café is owned by an Argentinean movie star- her pictures plaster the walls.

I had wanted to do some volunteer work while I was here. Unfortunately most establishments require a 3 month commitment. The other places I’ve tried have been shut down for the Easter holiday which was about 15 days here. Therefore I had to take on a different Project. My landlady had back surgery 2 years ago and since then rarely had left her house. I’ve had her out quite regularly forcing her to walk the streets. She’s quite happy about it now as she can walk further on her own and her pain has decreased. Sometimes I just walk with her and drop her off at an event she’d like to attend and then I come back and collect her later-this way she can’t call a cab. I’m glad I was able to make a difference in her life while getting to know her eccentric ways—she’s quite a character. A Jewish character - on top of speaking English, Italian and Spanish she also speaks Yiddish. Some of the painted heads I referred to earlier are of Rabbi’s.

For the last two weeks It was great to take my Photography class. I´ve learned a lot about my camera and the program photoshop - I can hardly wait to put it all into practice. My class consists of Deni, Dodi , Doug and me-Debbie the four D´s we have made fast friends. Dodi and Doug originally from Hawaii have recently bought here in SMA. They have a beautiful house with housekeeper and cook. Deni has recently bought here as well. He has been in the middle of redecorating so we´re still waiting for an invite.
Mexican time is different to Calgary time meaning that the time posted to begin is just a suggestion. This is true for every event I´ve attended. In the early evenings I try to do my laundry in a big sink outside my apartment. I listen to the birds while soaping up the clothes then rinsing them out to hang on the line - this would become too tedious if I also had other responsibilities but now it’s a nice distraction.
Around 9 pm is the best time to go out to the Jardin and take in the Mariachi bands or fabulous guitar players. There is loads going on to keep me busy. I´ve attended a couple of documentary movies, plays and intriguing thoughtful lectures on life. And now it´s out to dinner and yet another gallery opening!

Adios, Deb


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb