Silver Cities: Guanajuato


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato » Guanajuato
September 4th 2007
Published: September 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We took a four hour bus to Guanajuato. The time the bus was great, the toilet was in good condition and they gave us goodie bags with snacks. On the downside, they made us sit through Mel homophobe Gibson's "The Patriot". So if you're ever having to catch a bus around Mexico, check to see if "Primero Plus" does your route.

Guanajuato is absolutely beautiful. It's a colonial town but has a large university so it also has a young, bohemian feel to it. Lots of quirky cafes, bars and unusual shops. I've even seen some Mexican goths!

I read that Hurricane Henriette hammered Acapulco -- good timing we left when we did -- and the storms are making their way inland so that would explain the thunder storms I can hear outside my window as I write this. The others have gone out for dinner, ie. bar hopping. I'm not a drinker so I find the night drags on when I'm the only non-drinker in a group of big drinkers. Plus having to spend another night listening to Ludo's bullshit drinking stories, I'd rather top myself. His last story was about how he pretended to hijack a plane in Malaysia and got arrested and thrown in jail for four days where he was bashed by other prisoners. This morning he took six swigs of Tequila straight out of the bottle at the bus station. At 8.50am.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0802s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb