Luring Cuatro Cienegas


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Coahuila » Cuatro Cienegas
December 10th 2013
Published: March 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

The "Area de Proteccion de Flora y Fauna Cuatrocienegas" is utterly a stunning place in the Chihuahuan Desert which is the largest desert in North America.

The Characteristic aspect of this area is the white mountain dunes made by a mineral called "Gypsum".

There are also these four marshes called "Cienegas" which had a characteristic blue colour that is given by a microoganism living inside the pool.

It is a pretty big area to explore but I had an unexpected event with our taxi and we had a flat tyre, and so we lost some hours before getting back on the road.

That day I was alone and had the entire place for myself and I went exploring a bit the surroundings.

I was fascinated to walk on this white mantle of sand dunes, some reaching about six meters high, the contrast with the blue sky was really striking, was hot and breezy and once I got to the platform of the Blue pool I leant over the handrail and enjoyed the pretty scenary in front of me.

I wish I had more time to stay in this place but soon dark came and went back to town of Monclova which was where I stayed.

Another remarkable place that is unique, here, in Mexico and would recommend it to anyone passing by Coahuila state in northern Mexico


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb