Crocs and canoes in a mangrove swamp


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Chiapas » Puerto Arista
December 6th 2006
Published: December 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Where did everyone go?Where did everyone go?Where did everyone go?

Just me and my canoe in a mangrove swamp...
Glad to descend back to the coast out of the 2000m weather in San Cristobal.

Puerto Arista may sound to you like a port, but the best part of it is the bird rich estuary that backs onto the camping/cabañas.

I stayed at Amazonia Camping Cabañas which is 200m west from the Lonely Planet trailed Jose Camping Cabañas. However, even with some assistance on directions, my taxi driver only managed to find the former. Jose rents the one canoe for exploring the bird sanctuary and also has a functioning restaurant, unlike Amazonia.

I enjoyed my early moring canoe so much I rented the canoe late afternoon as well. The santuary is so peaceful. I had the canoe and the santuary to myself - except for the wildlife of course. When embarking the canoe, best first to check for crocodiles nearby - they do like to bask at the waters edge. Once underway there are many different kinds of birds - unfortunately I am no twicher, though I have retrospectively identified the Neotropic Cormorant, Magnificent Frigatebird and dozens of playful Snowy Egrets. There was also many dragonflys, butterflies, and little reptiles that skate the water. The mangrove trees provided
If a tree falls in the swamp?If a tree falls in the swamp?If a tree falls in the swamp?

Will anyone be there to photograph it?
their own visual facination.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Name that birdName that bird
Name that bird

Can a twitcher please help me name this bird?


10th December 2006

So beautiful
I shall want a poster of the canoe photo in the mangrove swamp, to pair with your desert photo. I can hear the birds chattering!

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 20; qc: 91; dbt: 0.0791s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb