Day 12 - Palenque


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Chiapas » Palenque
July 10th 2013
Published: July 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Palenque RuinsPalenque RuinsPalenque Ruins

Palenque ruins
We spent two nights at a hotel which is basically in the jungle. The room is a wooden hut and I have had the pleasure of finding a huge spider and mouse in my room, not nice. Although the spider bugged me more than the mouse did. One of the highlights of sleeping in a wooden hut is seeing and hearing monkeys outside my room. The monkeys make a loud jaguar sound which is to do with their territory.

After an 8 hour bus journey from Merida to Palenque the day before and a restless night sleep with the monkeys and creepy crawlies, we had to get up early to see the Mayan ruins of Palenque. It was great to be able to walk up and down the ruins as you’re not allowed to do this at Chichen Itza.

We spent the whole morning walking around the ruins, going up and down the steps. I swear I burnt off like 500 calories easily. It was a really hot day so had to keep finding shady spots.

After walking around the ruins we went back to our hotel and our CEO then took us to some amazing waterfalls where
MonkeyMonkeyMonkey

Monkey
we had a little swim and chilled out.

After seeing the waterfalls, we went back to the hotel to chill and had the opportunity to see the monkeys close up and they were quite happy for us to take some photos of them.

In the evening we went down the road to this really good restaurant where I had a Mexicana pizza. On the way back to the hotel, the roads were dark and I had my head torch with me which came in very handy.

I definitely recommend Palenque as a place to visit and it’s worth staying in a similar accommodation as it is an experience to remember.


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

MeMe
Me

Me on top of one of the ruins
Wooden hut I slept inWooden hut I slept in
Wooden hut I slept in

Wooden hut I slept in
WaterfallWaterfall
Waterfall

Waterfall


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb