San Juan Chamula


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Chiapas » Chamula
January 28th 2011
Published: June 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We started our morning with a few guidelines about how to conduct ourselves while in San Juan Chamula, including the bit about no cameras allowed. Our photojournalists were crushed because of it, but of course we didn't want to offend anyone or get our cameras taken (and never returned). I'll be honest and say I brought mine along but I kept it inside my purse where it'd be out of sight (no, I didn't sneak any pictures or even attempt to).

On arrival, we headed to the main attraction which was the church there (name unknown or non-existing). A beautiful white building with parts painted predominantly teal and have a bit of a pattern going on. We split up into two groups, as the local people limit how many foreigners/tourists are allowed inside the church at a time.

Inside was quite the sight to see, the setup very different than what I'm familiar with. The place was pretty much devoid of any seating (though there was something on the left side that people could sit along on. hum.. Shaped sort of like a semi-closed bleacher), the floor covered in pine needles and candles lit by devotees. I wish I could take a picture inside (something enchanting about the look, with the way the sunlight came through the windows), but doing so is very offensive; This was one place that it was 100%!t(MISSING)hat your camera will never see the light of day again.

Oh? What's this? Bottles of Coca Cola? Really? Talk about being out of place... to me anyways. (Later we find out from someone who did some research that they use Coca Cola as part of their rituals, as they find Coke as most efficient in inducing burps. Eww... Apparently they also use it as holy water. I know Coca Cola has a monopoly on Mexico but this is ri-dic-u-lous!)

After we regrouped outside at the nearby kiosk, we split off again, some going to browse the wares while the rest of us went hiking off into the distance up to a certain point where we could either go up these stairs towards a high viewpoint or head back to town to go 'window shopping'. I went back with a few of my classmates, one who was running around with a camera in his hand. I chided him over it but he said that tourists are taking pictures and nothing's happening to them. Can't argue with that... but eventually he did put it away again. I was told to keep my mouth shut about it, though I imagine the photojournalists will find out on their own that the rule about cameras no longer applied (or was just ignored so much they gave up).

We started cycling through the market, eventually bumping into some of my other classmates who were also wandering around. Here in this village I spent my first pesos; Some spent on a really nice handwoven shawl (to be honest I'm not exactly sure if that's what it'd be called and I also like to say it's indigenous though I haven't really seen any indigenous wearing this kind of thing. I don't suppose anyone out there would be able to tell me anything about it? I'll have a photo attached) and the first time I had to spend money for toilet paper to use in the bathroom (it's strange having to do that because apparently toilet paper is a 'hot item' down in Mexico. Gets stolen a lot hence the attendants with the toilet paper rolls).

Eventually the spread out group had to start reconvening before 2, as that was when our rides returned. Here was the first time that I found myself having to deny kids my drink (being high in the mountain, we were told to keep ourselves hydrated. I usually don't drink a thing but for some reason I decided to make it a goal to keep myself hydrated, even if I wasn't quite going about it the right way )

After getting back to San Cristobal, we met later on at the HQ where we had a discussion about the visit (this is when we find out about the Coke) and then we had a nice Italian dinner, catered to by the folks at the HQ. It was delicious! Not a lot of food but it was more than enough to satisfy us 😊

On the way back to the hotel, I was with one of two male classmates trailing behind a few of the others and as we passed by two guys sitting on a bench to the right, one of them says out loud, "Hey girrrrrl!". Ok so who told me that that wouldn't happen if I was hiking along with a male companion... Anyhow, tempting as it was, I didn't react though it was a bit tempting to. Never happens to me back in Canada... ;o

Tomorrow we're going to be paired up with our host families (2 per family, the pairing pre-determined back in Canada). This is excitiiing!

~Kedi~

Advertisement



Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb