Snorkeling


Advertisement
Published: December 26th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I did little research before arriving into Cabo San Lucas, but was looking for Eagle Diverswhen I got there. I ended up doing all my snorkeling with them and found their guide knowledgeable, safety conscious, fun, and picked up garbage from the sea floor if he found any.

I visited three separate snorkeling areas on this day : Santa Maria bay, Chileno Bay, and a marked area about halfway between the Marina and El Arco. Santa Maria is a generally not too deep bay with little coral to be concerned of swimming into, although some does exist. It appears getting into the Santa Maria waters from the beach right there would be really easy. Chileno Bay is more known for its Brain Coral and I found them mostly be green in color.

The last spot was the most interesting I would have to say with lots of depth to the water in that area, although staying within the snorkeling boundary (and thus out of the way of passing boats and their propellers) meant staying in generally not too deep water. It was in this area where I fed some fish with dried breadcrumbs from within an otherwise empty Coke bottle
which was pretty fun to have all the fish come up close.

Overall I would say I enjoyed snorkeling in Hanauma Bay in Oahu slightly more than the snorkeling in Cabo, but it was still fun!



Here are some videos I shot that day :










Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement










PufferfishPufferfish
Pufferfish

These not found in large numbers, but they were found pretty much everywhere, in the Marina along the rocks, and out in the open here too. They appeared to be blue with white dots.






Who's watching who?Who's watching who?
Who's watching who?

Last from Chileno Bay


Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0694s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb