Days 22-24: Central Newfoundland & St. Pierre


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada
August 14th 2014
Published: August 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After exploring the Western part of Newfoundland I began heading to the central area of the province. First stop was Twillingate, which is a prime spot in iceberg alley. No icebergs were here (the iceberg season is typically June to July), but I wasn't disappointed since I had spotted one in St. Anthony's. The next day I headed to Bonavista, another great spot for icebergs and wildlife. No icebergs again, but I did go to a small, nearby town called Elliston, which is home to a puffin colony. The puffins and seagulls live on a little outcropping just off the point. There were many people there at the time so they were too scared to come over, except for one little brave puffin who popped over for quick look. As you'll see puffins are tiny compared to the seagulls; they are about the size of small parrots. After Bonavista and Elliston I headed down to to the French islands of St. Pierre et Miquelon, with a quick stop off in Trinity on the way. I stayed in Fortune for the night and the next morning I took the ferry over to St. Pierre. It is an island just off the coast of Newfoundland, which is 100% French (they use Euros and everything). The town was very quaint and beautiful.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb