Days 11-13: Prince Edward Island (PEI)


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada
August 2nd 2014
Published: August 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

From Miramichi I headed through Kouchibouguac National Park and Shediac on my way to Charlottetown, PEI where I would spend the next two nights. The park was nice but nothing spectacular compared to what I've seen so far. In Shediac I had my first lobster roll of many to come. At the edge of New Brunswick I took the confederation bridge over to PEI and let me tell you it's a BIG bridge; it literally takes 15min at 80 km/h to cross. By the time I arrived into Charlottetown it was early evening, so I went to grab dinner with a friend from HHA who had recently moved back to the city. We ate tons of seafood and had some delicious local craft beer (I've never been a fan of fruit flavoured beer, but the Gahan Blueberry Ale was phenomenal). Charlottetown is a very quaint though somewhat touristy city, which reminded me a lot of Kingston. It has a lot of history, in fact when I was there they were celebrating the 150th anniversary of the confederation, which was signed in Charlottetown. The next morning we went to Cavendish Beach, then parted ways. I went to Malpeque to have a delicious lunch and see the birthplace of the famous Malpeque Oysters. Then I had the obligatory visit to Anne of Green Gables, followed by a hike in Greenwich National Park. It was a great day, though I had unrealistically planned twice as much to do on this day. I would love to return to PEI one day and do a full loop of the island. There's so much to do, you could easily fill two weeks of relaxation and exploration.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb