Visiting an old friend in Montreal


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada
September 16th 2012
Published: September 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Katherine (yes, that's me, talking about myself in the third person) needed to spend about five hours today working, and meanwhile Roberta did the laundry and picked up a few groceries (thanks, Roberta!). We then met Roberta's old friend Carla for an afternoon and evening of walking around the city, catching up on news, and eating wonderful food from Carla's kitchen.

Carla lives in Outremont, a part of Montreal I've (yes, I know, voice shift. BAD writer!) never visited before. It was fascinating walking along the residential streets, full of three-unit three-story apartment buildings. Lots of ethnic diversity makes this a really interesting neighborhood. Carla lives on the second floor of one of these apartments, and her place was just beautiful, honey-colored hardwood floors, lots of big windows, warm and spacious rooms. This part of the city is just full of parks.

Our ride back home included a trip to the top of Mount Royal, where we glimpsed some wonderful views of the city by night. It reminded me of the many times I came here in the late sixties and early seventies. I know the city has changed, but somehow it has also remained at its core much the same. I found myself wishing I had many weeks to explore this city and learn more of her history.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb