Day 21 - Delta Junction, AK to Burwash Landing, YT


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Yukon
September 14th 2009
Published: September 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was my last day in Alaska and I think that the state was giving me a friendly warning this morning that it was time to leave. The temperature (according to my trusty digital thermometer in the Miata) was 35 degrees Fahrenheit (or, for you Canadians, that's 1.7 degrees Celsius!). Cold! However, the sun was shining and the skies were blue and I immediately put the top down on the Miata, bundled up and hit the road. It was nothing but blue skies and sun for the entire day (and it warmed up to 60 F). Everywhere I go, people are telling me how exceptionally nice the weather has been this September (and today may have been the best weather day of the entire trip!).

Before leaving Delta Junction I drove three miles in the wrong direction (towards Fairbanks) so that I could see the second longest river crossing of the Alaska pipeline (see photos). The bridge structure is huge and amazing, suspending the 4-foot diameter pipe above the river below.

Then I turned around and headed back into Delta Junction where the Alaska Highway actually ends and started down the highway towards the Canadian border. Four hours later I was back in Yukon Territory and said goodbye to Alaska for the final time. Thank you Alaska! Nice state!

And now I'm back in Canada, eh?

During the day I hit the 4000 mile mark on the Miata. I probably have at least 2500 more miles to go.

One thing I've learned about the Yukon Territory; there isn't much here. About 30,000 people live in the entire Province and two-thirds of them (20,000) live in Whitehorse, the capital of the Yukon. There are very few options for places to stay while you're traveling, and tonight I ended up in a little place called Burwash Landing Resort. Maybe the place was worthy of the name "resort" many years ago, but I certainly don't feel like I'm at a resort today. This place looks like it was built in the 1920's and maybe remodeled once in 1951 and that was it. It's old and dreary and my room is very tiny and spartan (but clean). The only good thing about this place is the location; on a beautiful lake. But hey, nine hours from now I'll be on the road again and this place will be a distant memory.

Tomorrow is a long driving day (about 440 miles) all on the Alaska Highway and most of that on highway that I've already covered on the way up, so I may have a very short blog tomorrow. The next couple of days (after tomorrow) should be more scenic and interesting.

Stay tuned!

Jack


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



16th September 2009

Maybe this is where the term "last resort" came from? :)
16th September 2009

The Last Resort
I like it! The place was a real dive. Dad

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb