Day 10 - Juneau, AK to Skagway, AK (via ferry) then driving into Yukon Territory (Canada) and Haines Junction


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Yukon
September 3rd 2009
Published: September 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

First of all, thanks for the comments that some of you have posted on this web site! I really appreciate your feedback! I would love to respond to all of your comments, but at the end of the day when I've finally settled down and completed my travel blog, I'm really bushed and just feel like calling it a day. Anyway, it's good to know that you're following my adventure!

Well, it had to rain sometime and it did today. The ferry arrived in Skagway where five large cruise ships were already in port and cruise passengers were crawling all over town. I knew in advance that it was going to be a busy cruise ship day, so my plans were to spend a couple of hours in town and then hit the road (and so I did).

I hadn’t talked to Sereda in about four days because of limited cell phone coverage up here, but Skagway had good service and I tried calling her at work. I was fortunate to catch her at her desk and I really enjoyed talking with my sweetie! (she assures me that she wants me to come home!).

It was very cloudy in Skagway but not raining. I headed north for the Canadian border (about 25 miles away) and as soon as I hit the border it started raining and continued for most of the day. Reluctantly, I put the Miata top up and pressed on. The temperature stayed in the mid-40’s all afternoon.

At the Canadian border customs station, the customs inspector seemed particularly perplexed about me and the Miata. He asked many more questions than previous border crossings:

Question: Where are you from? (Ridgefield, WA)

Question: Where are you going? (Alaska)

Question: Do you have an RV? (What do you mean?)

Question: Do you pull this car behind an RV? (No)

Question: So this is your only vehicle? (Yes)

Question: Are you “moving” to Alaska? (No)

Question: You’re driving this car on vacation? (Yes)

After a bunch of other questions, he finally decided that I wasn’t a threat to the Canadians in Yukon Territory and let me pass.

Stopped in a little town called Carcross and visited a vintage general store. Very cool!

Late in the afternoon the rain stopped and the sun came out. Hopefully that’s a sign that the weather will be better tomorrow.

Ended up in another small town called Haines Junction and checked in at a motel (the first time on this trip that I didn’t have reservations, but tourism is so slow up here that I don’t think I’m going to have any problems finding a place to stay without reservations).

Tomorrow I'll be crossing the border again, back into Alaska where I'll spend about 10 days before starting the long journey home.

Later!

Jack



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



4th September 2009

I Dare Ya!
Okay, we've had pics of you in the lovely scenery... taken with your left hand. Now give us pics from left AND right hand to prove you're ambipixelated! *grin* Gorgeous, gorgeous pictures! hht
4th September 2009

Too bad the Inland Passage cities (towns) were at midnight. They are all quite intetesting particularly if you take a side trip. No matter what you see, it's an adventure and well worth the trip. Your pictures and narrative are perfect. I look for it each morning. Carole
7th September 2009

Sounds like the Skagway customs inspector had the same question I did. "You’re driving this car on vacation?" "To Alaska?" :-)

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb