June 24, 09


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan » Yorkton
June 24th 2009
Published: June 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 24. 9267Km.
I just did the math and so far I'm getting 15.1 mpg or for you younger folks I'm using 18.7L/100Km. What would have been wrong with 5.35 Km per Litre? It's probably a European thing.
That's about 50% more fuel than I use without the trailer. I'm moving about 13,000lbs which is probably a little less than I would do with my old trailer when it was loaded with fire wood but this one being so high it's like pushing a sheet of plywood through the air. What I'm saying is this one is more noticeable. All in all not too bad. There are guys out there with gas pickups who get that kind of mileage driving around empty.
I slept in a bit this morning and just as I was starting to pack up a guy at the campground came over to see the trailer. People are curious about how a motorcycle fits in the trailer. It happened again here tonight. Anyhoo, by the time I hit the road it was noon or close to it. I used the Winnipeg ring road and got back on HWY 1 which is the Trans Canada Highway. I only stayed
ConstructionConstructionConstruction

look at the size of the gravel thy use on the shoulders
on till Portage la Prairie though, then I went North along Lake Manitoba and over to Dauphin. I think that's where I stopped for fuel and a few groceries. I should write this stuff down now that I'm getting old.
Turns out the campground I had picked out when I left Winnipeg is 3.5Km down a gravel road. I prefer not to ride on gravel if I don't have to so a quick search with the browser on my phone found me another. I'm at the city of Yorkton campground. I saw this one when I was searching last night but chose the other because of WiFi. It's actually a descent park.
A guy from Yorkton tourism came and set up a table with coffee and cookies then walked around inviting people over. I had just arrived so I changed and went for a short ride into town to see what's what however after I got back and made dinner he was still here with a few people so I wondered over. OK it was because there were two girls there whom I spotted two sites over when I pulled in. They are here from England on a three and a half month trip and headed to BC as well. We all chatted a while till the girls said they were turning in. I made the comment it was still so light out at 10 o'clock but the local guy informed me it was only nine. I did'nt realize I crossed into Mountain time when I left Manitoba. There was no sign this time but I was not on the main highway either. Hell, the Saskatchewan sign was busted off so what do I expect?


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

hillshills
hills

it started getting a little hilly again on the Western side of Manitoba
Yorkton siteYorkton site
Yorkton site

The city of Yorkton campground.


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb