Shopping, Followed By Two More Lots of Shopping


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Québec City
August 12th 2014
Published: August 13th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Place RoyalPlace RoyalPlace Royal

The old square in the lower town.
Today was spent shopping so it's not going to be a very interesting entry so far as a travel blog is concerned. Shopping is a serious business, so my daughter needed several hours to get ready, so I went for a walk into the Quebec City's lower town area (lower in respect to its hight relative to the walled city, not how classy it isn't). First thing in the morning is a great time to walk round as it is still relatively cool and there are not too many people about.

Place Royal is a nice little square, which has been recently renovated according to my guidebook. Following the bizarre soup and pigeon sculpture (and I use that word as I am not sure what else to call it), which I saw a couple of days ago not far from this area, there are some equally bizarre "random plastic toys hanging from walls" sculptures down here as well, but I really have no idea what any of it is all about.

There's a shopping centre a few miles away in the more modern parts of Quebec. We almost thought we were finished, and then we discovered another two more
Parlement du QuebecParlement du QuebecParlement du Quebec

The home of the Quebec government just outside the walled city.
shopping centres next to it, so that experience took longer than I had hoped. It did include a Best Buy, an Apple Store and some discount technology place I had never heard of, but all they did was to get me moaning about how much cheaper everything is here. Like America, you need to add the tax onto all the quoted prices, which is 15% in Canada, so it's not as cheap as it first seems, although still a lot cheaper than rip-off Britain. It left me wondering if I would be able to get a TV, a PC, another camera and some bluetooth speakers back on the flight? Not to mention all the gear that my daughter was inevitably buying.

We finished the afternoon with a walk in the Parc des Champs Bataille, which stretches a few miles south from La Citadelle and Parlement du Quebec.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Toys SculptureToys Sculpture
Toys Sculpture

Again, I have no idea.


Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb