New France


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Québec City
June 19th 2010
Published: July 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

As I wrote in my paper-and-pen diary, "Take heed, cash-strapped travellers: Quebec City could be a town in France and you don't have to leave Canada to reach it." I thoroughly enjoyed my three nights in the provincial capital of Quebec. It was a picturesque city of cobblestone streets, cafes with terraces, busy squares and verdant parks. After five weeks in tiny Jonquiere, it was wonderful to be in a bustling metropolis that has managed to maintain the intimate idea of everyone knowing one another. As happens when I really like a place, I pictured myself spending a longer part of my life in Quebec City. Who knows when I'll be back.

Instead of electing the youth hostel life that can be so "hit-or-miss" I decided to Couchsurf in Quebec and found a woman about my age to stay with. We had loads in common and Kélie had an extremely positive influence on my perceptions of her city. With a local as my guide, I picnicked on the Plains of Abraham and enjoyed a street music festival, a walk along the harbour and a drink at a pub. When I was on my own, I adopted my faithful style and wandered through the town trying to explore and get a sense of the place. I have not found a satisfying word in any language but English for "people-watching." This is a favourite pastime of mine. There is plenty to learn from simply watching the world go by.

After having so dramatically improved my French in Saguenay, I was confident enough to befriend some locals, through my gracious hostess. Everyone was welcoming and patient with me and it was so gratifying to be properly immersed in the language. Although there were moments of frustration, certainly, I was so fortunate to have been able to participate in this opportunity to spend time in Quebec. I'm recommending "Explore" to anyone who will listen and encouraging all to visit the province that might seem the most foreign to anglophones. Il vaut la peine!

In the capital, I enjoyed a trip to Lévi on the ferry (so recommended!), poked around Parliament, browsed through the Museum of Civilization and made the necessary stops at monuments and sights including, of course, the Chateau Frontenac. Mostly, though, I was able to meet some wonderful people and be outdoors in the bright sunshine. Often there was music.
Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

The boardwalk leading to the Chateau Frontenac
Often there was laughter. What's not to love about that?


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

Morbid sense of humor in Quebec: "Pay attention to our children - the next one could be yours"!
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

Across the strait to Levi
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

In front of the Parliament


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb