Crossing the border...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Québec City
September 5th 2005
Published: September 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We depart this morning for Québec City, up in Québec, Canada. It was an early start again, which with these tours is pretty much the norm. Our first stop was at a service station at Kennebunk, Maine. I was next to Alex today. She was nice. She was from Hamburg, Germany, and was a really pleasant girl.

Once we were back on the road again, and still travelling through Maine, Jordan put on a film. It was 'Good Will Hunting', which was mostly filmed in and around the state of Maine. I'd seen it before, but it was still a good film.

We stopped for lunch before it had finished, at Skowhegan. I got a lovely roast beef roll for my lunch, and others got their lunch also. A number of us went and sat on a grassy area, out in the nice sun. It was a welcome break from the coach. Some of the guys started playing football too.

After an hour it was time to go, so back on the coach we got, where we finished watching 'Good Will Hunting'.

We then arrived at the American/Canadian border. No real problems here, so then it was onwards through the Canadian territory of Québec. The first thing I noticed was all the skid-marks on the tarmac road. There were hundreds of them. The area we were driving through was moose country, and so I was guessing the skid-marks were where drivers had come across them.

And so then it came to the 'introductions' time. Whoever we were sitting next to, each had to ask each other some questions, and then we both had to go to the front of the coach, and introduce our 'partner', so I introduced Alex, and she did me. If I remember rightly, the questions were: name and country, so that was easy enough. Then their favourite film, I forget Alex's. Their favourite music, my memory really is terrible! Where they worked, so a bank in Hamburg, in Alex's case. What they were looking forward to most, it was everything wasn’t it Alex? Lastly what traffic light they were; red was in a relationship; amber was in a not really serious relationship; and green was that they were young, free and single. Alex was a green light, like me. Sorry Alex, I just can't remember your answers!!!

When we got to Québec, I realised that the worst thing ever that could have happened, had in fact happened. I'd left my camera in the hotel room back at Boston. I was devastated. I could not believe it. I immediately phoned up the hotel back in Boston, but they passed me onto Housekeeping. They weren't there, so I had to leave a voicemail with all the details of what had happened. I also logged this as an urgent matter. That was all I could do. I felt so helpless.

We then went to La Barberie for our dinner. It was not the best dinner I'd had, and also the service was really slow, though I have a feeling it was because they were understaffed, or they seemed to be anyway. From here, we went onto the 'Maurice' club, which was part of the 'Voodoo Grill' restaurant. It was a good night there, though a lot of people had gone by 1am. There were around fifteen of us there, and we stayed until about 2:30am. I eventually got to sleep at 3am, after a cab ride home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1005.2kb