Montréal, c'est magnifique!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
November 26th 2011
Published: November 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Montréal, Quebec. A weekend of pride 2011, French-Canadian cuisine (in the form of poutine), a lot of walking, and getting info on buying a car to go travel Canada with.

Well, that plan flew out the window! I have been here for 3 months by now, the time has flown by, summer has turned into autumn (a colourful one btw) and the first snow is on our doorstep. Yeah, plans change...

Montréal really is a fantastic city as I had already see from the air actually when I first flew into Canada. Located on an island within the st. Laurent river, it is the birthplace of multiculturalism thanks to 'Pierre Elliot Trudeau' in the 1970's and the seventh largest city in North America.

After that first crazy but fantastic weekend, I happened to get a job in the gaming industry. Checking my native language in games for grammatical mistakes, I share the office with many nationalities which really make it a fun working environment. And so I decided to stay. Rented a room, which I had to leave again a week later due to a bedbug infestation, I then stayed in a halfway house in the village for
Yup,that's me.. on Mt. RoyalYup,that's me.. on Mt. RoyalYup,that's me.. on Mt. Royal

..when it was still nice and warm and sunny
over a week... VERY happy to get out of there (the bedbugs had followed me) I moved to my current place in the east. Small, but with a private balcony, it was great those first weeks when weather was still between 25 and 30 degrees. (the bugs are all dead and gone)

Yeah, so by now 3 months have passed. Have been really busy for a 5 week period, working long hours each day, traveling 8 subway stations to downtown at 9 in the morning and coming back home again at midnight. Spending the weekends exploring the nightlife with my new-found friends and even went on a day trip to Mont Tremblant (separate blog). I have signed up for a Quebec-sponsored French-learning course that will last until the end of the year so wish me luck. No big updates for now, I am hoping to go south to get some sun in January, probably mexico or Cuba, until then

salut!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Dream Lake, Chinese garden.Dream Lake, Chinese garden.
Dream Lake, Chinese garden.

Botanical gardens.
Montreal biosphereMontreal biosphere
Montreal biosphere

on St. Helens island
Montreal from Mt. RoyalMontreal from Mt. Royal
Montreal from Mt. Royal

in autumn colours
My balcony view _ winterMy balcony view _ winter
My balcony view _ winter

(only three weeks later than 'autumn')
Beetles, beetles, beetlesBeetles, beetles, beetles
Beetles, beetles, beetles

@ insectarium, botanical gardens


Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 21; qc: 90; dbt: 0.112s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.2mb